Hello Nice Weather, We Have Missed You

Standard

Our day started with a happy baby playing and laughing and just overall happy. But then as soon as I started feeding her breakfast–oatmeal with fruit–all that changed. Zoey started crying and crying, even as she opened her mouth for another spoonful of oatmeal. I had checked the temperature of the food prior to giving her the first spoonful and at best, it was luke warm. So, I knew it wasn’t an issue of her being upset at too hot food. We tried her binky–no change. Greg grabbed a bottle of juice, which calmed her down (whew!), but she was clearly still upset and kind of antsy.

After she downed at least four ounces of juice, I tried the oatmeal again, even though it was, at this point, cold. She ate a few more spoonfuls and then started complaining again. Greg grabbed the baby Ambesol and when I rubbed some on her top gum, I felt her fourth tooth straining to get through the skin. Poor baby.

The Ambesol allowed her to take a nice long two-hour nap, which is really kind of unusal for her (usually she only sleeps about a half an hour in the morning and an hour and a half–at most–in the afternoon). When she woke up, it was like she was an entirely different baby. She was back to smiling a lot and laughing, so apparently the tooth pain had calmed down a bit.

This afternoon, she was still in a great mood and since the weather was actually really warm for the first time this spring, Greg and I decided to take Zoey to Little York Park–located about five minutes from our house.

At first, Zoey didn’t seem to like being out in NATURE and she started crying until I took her out of her stroller and carried her. We took a walk through the parkbefore playing because we were actually looking for the pavilion we’ve reserved for Zoey’s 1st birthday party in June (turns out the stupid pavilion isn’t the one I thought we had reserved and it’s at the very back of the park. Anyway…). On the way back to the playground, we put Zoey back in her stroller and she seemed much more content than she had when we first got there.

We took her on the swings and she absolutely loved it. At first she didn’t seem too sure of what was going on, but then she started laughing as we went higher and higher.

Adorable girl.

Me and my baby.

After swinging for a few minutes, we worked on standing. Zoey still hasn’t made up her mind if she’d like to try her hand at crawling of if she wants to go straight to walking.

Then we sat Zoey on the ground to see what she’d do. She’s never been on the ground before–or outside for that long of a time–because she was so tiny last summer and winter seemed to last FOREVER this year.

She found a leaf that she liked (see it under her hand?) and seemed content to just hold it while Greg took pictures of her.

Until:

OMG!

And that was the end of playing with the leaf and exploring on the ground.

After that, we decided that it was time to head home, so Zoey went back in the stroller and we started towards the parking lot. On the way there, we stopped on the bridge for Zoey to look at the rushing water underneath.

My lovies.

When we got home, Zoey quickly downed about four ounces of juice and then fell asleep. She woke up long enough to have a bottle of formula (she wasn’t interested in eating actual food for dinner) and then she was out again.

Going to the park was awesome and I think it made all three of us feel good to just be getting out of the house and DOING something after such a cold, awful winter. I’m just glad Zoey’s tooth stopped bothering her so that it didn’t ruin her whole day.

And now Greg and I are both silently praying that she sleeps through the night because it was a big, exciting afternoon for us too, and we’re both exhausted.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

