Good Friends, Good Times

Standard

Yesterday, Greg, Zoey and I went to our friends, Dave and Nicki Wynn’s house for a while in the afternoon. And as usual, we had an awesome time. It’s so nice to hang around a couple with two amazing kids that don’t have ten million pounds of drama surrounding them. It’s refreshing and it’s one of the few friend’s homes that Greg and I feel like we can completely relax and don’t end up feeling exhausted when we leave.

Even Zoey seemed to enjoy herself. She played with their daughter, Ani, who will inevitably be babysitting for us in the future. And their son, Ryder, read her The Very Hungry Caterpillar (note to self: must get this book for Zoey), which was adorable and awesome because he’s an amazing reader for a first grader. Zoey even gave a few shy smiles and giggles before we left their house. So, the Wynns are definitely on their way to being part of the very small circle of people that Zoey accepts and doesn’t start crying at when she sees (I think she was pretty much won over anyway because she couldn’t get enough of Nicki’s sausage dip and chicken/broccoli croissants).

Greg and I really respect Dave and Nicki as parents and, more importantly, as people, and we just think the world of them. They’re the very definition of good friends and for that, we definitely need to see them more often. Even though there is no relation between the two families by blood, Zoey will most likely grow up knowing them as “Aunt Nicki and Uncle Dave”. There’s nothing better than that.

If you find friends like Nicki and Dave–hang onto them. Don’t let long periods of time pass where you don’t see them. And if that does happen, make sure to reconnect as soon as possible. The thing is, just a fifteen minute conversation with Nicki and Dave can put things in perspective. They’re not perfect–they’re just people like Greg and I–but they listen and they care. I know that the hour Greg hung out with them this past Friday afternoon made him feel much better about the stresses we’ve been facing recently. Just from talking with them for a bit. Isn’t that what friendship is all about?

Besides, Nicki asked me to scrapbook with her sometime, which is just AWESOME!!!

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

