Grow Up

Standard

Yesterday morning I had to run to the grocery store to pick up a few things because Greg, Zoey and I had plans to go a friend’s house for a while and I wanted to make a taco salad to take with us. I went to Tops in Cortland (would have preferred to go to the super Walmart five more minutes down the road, but I was short on time and I figured I could get in and out quicker at Tops). Everything was fine as I strolled through the produce section until I ran into someone from my past (jeez, that sounds waaaay too ominous) and got completely and obviously snubbed. Like incredibly obvious to the point that I actually walked away stunned and feeling a bit hurt.

Here’s the thing:

Maybe you went to high school with me and didn’t care for me then. Or maybe you were my coworker in the past and just weren’t a Cindy fan. That’s okay. There have been people in my past that I didn’t care for, either. But when you’re coming towards me and YOU make eye contact with ME and you start to smile and I start to say, “Hello,” and you realize who I am and look away quickly…. Yeah, that’s petty as all hell.

The thing is, I knew this person about six years ago, if she had a grudge against me, you’d think she’d be over it by now (not to mention she’s an adult and jeez, grow up already). My mom thought that maybe she just didn’t recognize me because, you know, my hair is different and I’ve gained some poundage since I saw this person quite often. But, no. I could see it in her eyes–she recognized me and looked away. It wasn’t like I was going to stop and chat with her, I was just going to say hello as we passed each other, but she made it clear that I wasn’t good enough to talk to.

Hey lady, I have an awesome boyfriend and a gorgeous daughter. I don’t need you to validate my life with insincere small talk in the produce section of Tops. But the fact that you snubbed me showed that nothing has changed–you’re still so steeped in the political process of being popular that little peons like me should be avoided. I’ve never been good with popularity contests and had hoped to leave them behind in high school. But it always amazes me when issues in the world of being an adult revolve around who’s the ‘coolest’ and the most well-liked. Jeez. Can we all just grow up now?

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

