Night Owl Child

Standard

Last night, Zoey woke up around one in the morning and just refused to go back to sleep. It wasn’t like she was crying or anything–she just wouldn’t sleep. I tried putting my hand on her side while she lay in her crib, but she just stared at me for a while and then finally laughed like she thought I was silly for even trying. I picked her up and held her in my arms while I tried rocking her to sleep. She laid her head down on my shoulder and everything, but when I put her back in her crib, she was wide-eyed and ready to play again.

At some point, I asked Greg for help because sometimes if he holds her, she’s out like a light and I knew I had to get some sleep because of going to work today and whatnot. After about twenty minutes, he came back in our bedroom and admitted that he had no idea what to do because she was just wide awake.

I took her downstairs in hopes that maybe she would fall asleep if I cuddled with her in our recliner. I turned on the TV and lowered the volume to barely audible in hopes that maybe some background noise would help. Not so. Zoey closed her eyes, but she kept squirming around like she couldn’t get comfortable.

A half an hour or so later, I trudged back upstairs with a still-awake baby. Greg helped me shoved the dogs off our bed and we put Zoey in between us, thinking that maybe she’d fall asleep if she were in our bed. Nope. She kept wanting to sit up and look around.

At this point, I would have given all the money in the world for a few hours of sleep and Greg looked like he was ready to nod off while sitting up. But still, he was the rational one who said, “Maybe she wants a bottle?”

Oh. Right. Didn’t think of that.

Zoey has slept through the night since she was just a few weeks old, so it’s very rare when she wakes in the middle of the night to eat. So, when I heard her fussing on the monitor AT ONE IN THE MORNING, the first thought I had was that she must have lost her binky, not maybe she’s hungry.

So Greg made a quick 3-ounce bottle and while Zoey was downing it, Kaylee decided she needed to go outside to pee. Once again, I went downstairs, let Kaylee out and then sat in the living room, staring at the wall until Kaylee whined to come back inside.

I switched places with Greg so he could carry Kaylee back upstairs (she’s not strong enough to walk upstairs by herself anymore). By this time, Zoey had finished her bottle, so I gave her a binky and we cuddled together on my side of the bed.

Within ten minutes she was out.

Greg carried her back into her crib and after breathing a sigh of relief together, went back to sleep at four in the morning.

Two hours later, I was up and in the shower to get ready to start my day. Thank God the Nice N Easy in Tully has large coffee cups because I was walking around like a zombie until I got my coffee.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

