New Moms Unite!

Standard

Yesterday when I called the doctor’s office, the nurse told me, “Well, it might just be allergies…” I think she was ready to just write it off as ‘Oh-Cindy’s-a-new-mom-who-overreacts-at-everythin- and-isn’t-that-just-cute-these-new-mom’s-who-don’t-know-anything’. But what about the not eating and sleeping as much, I asked. Her response? “Well, let’s see if we can get you in this afternoon because I don’t want you to worry about it all night.” Read: Bring your kid in and we’ll take a look at her just to shut you up.

The entire way to the doctor’s office I worried that I was overreacting and maybe it was just allergies (shouldn’t those be evaluated too, though?) and oh my, am I making a big deal out of nothing? This thought train is pretty typical of me because since Zoey was born, I’ve been attempting to be the best mom I can be, but at the same time I’m secretly afraid at the fact that I don’t know what I’m doing half the time. So I stressed that I was being one of those new moms that jumps at every little thing that happens with their kid. But, on the off-chance something was really wrong with Zoey’s eye, I didn’t want to put off getting it treated.

Turns out, I was right. Pink eye. Just starting (thankfully), but eye drops are now in play and I had to take the day off work today because Zoey is contagious for the next 24 hours (gah!).

But the important point here is: I WAS RIGHT! I listened to my intuition (and Greg) and I pushed for the appointment, even when the nurse was ready to write it off as allergies without even seeing my baby’s eye. I WAS RIGHT! New moms, trust that little voice inside you and even if it means you might look worried about nothing, you do what you think is right. For you. For your baby.

So there.

P.S.–my eye is still itchy today. I think I might have gotten Zoey’s pink eye.

Older pic. She’s holding my hair in her fists while she sleeps.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

