Raspberries

Standard

Every day Zoey amazes me. She’s only nine and a half months old, but she still does things that surprise me, make me laugh and make me love her even more. Tonight was no different. I was feeding her dinner and everything was going well until she apparently decided she was done. But instead of pushing my hand or the spoon away like she has started to do in the last week, she opened her mouth for another spoonful, waited until she had a large amount of chicken noodle baby food in her mouth and then started to blow raspberries.

Chicken noodle went everywhere–on the couch, on me, on Zoey. I scolded her by saying, “Zoey! No No!” (I read somewhere that she’s at a good age to start understanding what no means by the tone of my voice). But she totally ignored me and continued to blow raspberries.

And then she opened her mouth wide for another spoonful.

Stupidly, I gave it to her.

She blew more raspberries.

I couldn’t help it. I started laughing. Here was my baby completely in her own little world, blowing raspberries like it was nothing and totally ignoring the fact that her mommy was attempting to scold her for the first time. I ended up having to cover my mouth with my hand so that she wouldn’t see that I was laughing; I didn’t want to encourage her.

But I couldn’t stop laughing because she looked so silly. So there she was continually blowing raspberries and I had my hand over my mouth while saying, “No No! Zoey, no no!” She finally turned and looked at me like I was insane, which only made me laugh harder.

In the end, I pulled myself together and gave her a bottle of juice to drink because it was obvious she was only going to keep doing the same thing if I kept trying to feed her.

I guess I’m going to have to work on being stern when she’s doing something she shouldn’t be–and probably I shouldn’t laugh.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

