New Parent Lessons Learned: My Baby Wears Disposable

Standard

In this day and age, I totally understand how important it is to protect the environment. That’s why we recycle and the boyfriend and I, both are very much against littering. But one thing I won’t, at this point, change my mind on is my use of disposable diapers.

I understand the attraction to cloth diapers. Seriously, i get it. You can use them over again, they’re comfortable for baby, etc., etc., etc. But I can’t get past the convenience of the disposable ones, especially when you’re on the go. Use it and throw it away, so you don’t have gross dirty diapers that need to be washed clogging up your diaper bag. Plus, in the summertime, the disposable ones are inevitable going to be at least a couple degrees cooler on a little behind than a thick cloth diaper.

One of the babies that my mom babysits during the week wears cloth diapers and even though the diapers come in adorable colors, they’re super-thick for absorption, which makes the baby’s butt look four times that it really is. I enjoy Zoey’s bottom looking like a little baby bottom with or without a diaper on.

Can’t get much cuter than that, right?

The only thing crappy thing about the disposable diapers is the fact that they’re so darn expensive. A box of 96 Luvs size 3 diapers cost about $16.00 at Walmart (compared to the super-expensive $25.00 Pampers). It might take a while to get through a box od diapers, but then we have to go out and buy another box–and then another. It never really ends until she’s potty-trained (long way off yet) and it sure cost a lot of money in the long run.

Cloth diapers may be expensive upfront (I think I heard a pack of six or seven can be close to $300, depending on where you get them, of course), but they’re reusable, So, you end up saving a bundle of money over time. Plus, the type of cloth diapers that Charleigh’s (the baby my mom watches) parents bought are adjustable around the wasist via snaps that allow for extra room as the baby grows. So it’s possible their $300 investment could last them for the next few years. Smart, those two.

But I still like disposable better. So this is what I’ve learned in an effort to at least try to save a bit of money without sacrificing quality:

Generic Walmart diapers–suck. The sizes are weird and they feel a little bulky on the baby.

Huggies–Sort of suck. They work well enough during the day, but at night they tend to leak like whoa. The price is sort of more in my range, which makes them a little bit more attractive, and I believe they also have some type of points system that can allow you to save even more money. Also, it seems like most stores tend to put them on sale first before other diaper brands, But that whole leaking at night thing van get really annoying, especially if you have a child who sleeps through the night.

Pampers–are the best quality diapers that I’ve found so far. The problem is that they’re so darn expensive. Pampers has a points system via codes that you get when you buy any Pampers products and enter them at Pampers Village (Pampers.com). The problem is, it takes forever to accrue enough points to do anything with (the first couple ‘prizes’ are the chance to enter drawings for more Pampers products). There are mommy blogs that post the different codes that their readers find, which allows you to accrue points faster.

Luvs–I find that they work really well for Zoey. The price is much better than Pampers and a little better than Huggies. Plus, they don’t leak. I have been using Luvs almost exclusively for the last few months and haven’t had a problem with them yet.

Another way to save money is to order diapers through Amazon.com. I know that sounds kind of weird, but I’m pretty sure their distributor is diapers.com and prices are a but better than what you tend to find at Target or Walmart. So basically, you can get a bulk amount of diapers for a lower price (or you can get them at Sams Club or BJs Club) and if you subscribe to magazines like Parents, you can usually find a 20% off diapers couple if you order through Amazon.com. The best thing to do if you decided to go this route is to sign up for the subscribe and save program, which gives you 30% off diapers (couples with a coupon from Parents magazine, that’s 50% off). Plus, you can usually find free shipping by signing up for their Amazon Moms program.

Just as a disclaimer, though, make sure you keep on top of the whole subscribe and save program. You can cancel it after your receive your order or you can sign up to have Amazon.com automatically charge your credit card and send you diapers every month to every six months (your choice). It’s convenient, but it would be easy to forget and all of the sudden have a charge on your card and diapers in the mail.

Just keep in mind there are options out there so that you don’t necessarily have to pay a crazy amount for diapers. If your baby goes through diapers like ours does, it’s worth it to do some research to find deals.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

One response »

  1. There is no diaper that’s really totally safe for the environment. Even cloth diapers use a lot of water, energy and chemicals in the laundering process. Here is a brand of biodegradable diapers that are at least RELATIVELY greener compared to the disposable diapers you listed.
    http://www.seventhgeneration.com/Diapers

Leave a Reply

