Dear Katie Holmes,

Standard

When your daughter was walking around in high-heeled shoes and everyone had a fit, I just laughed. What little girl doesn’t like to play dress up? It wasn’t hurting anything. Who cares?

When your daughter, at five, was seen sucking on a binky, I said, “Weeeelllll, I don’t know about that.” A binky at five? My opinion? That’s way too old for a binky. Maybe it’s just that I’m a new mom, but I’m planning on Zoey giving up the binky by age two at the latest (I already know how to do it too–we’ll explain to her that she needs to leave her binky for the binky fairy to find and take to another little baby, who doesn’t have one. Thank you Super Nanny for that idea). I image the older they are when you try to take it away, the harder it will be to totally break them of it.

But what made me completely jump off the Katie Holmes fence was the fact that you gave your daughter gummy snacks in the shape of…um…well, they were in the shape of the male anatomy. Inappropriate? YES. On two different levels. For one, your child is way, way, way too young to be exposed to something like that. I mean, if they aren’t shaped like worms or bears, isn’t she going to wonder just what they ARE shaped as? Won’t she have questions? This is NOT the way to explain the differences between boys and girls to your child.

And two, you’re in the limelight all of the time. OF COURSE someone would get a picture of your adorable little daughter eating them. Don’t you think, as a young mom, you could have set a better example? After all, us new moms already have strikes against us because people automatically assume we’re naive and overprotective. Letting your child have an x-rated snack sure isn’t going to help that.

So maybe next time young Suri wants a treat, you can give her a piece of gum. Or a lollipop. All kids like lollipops. And lollipops don’t tend to make people wonder if you’re on crack for giving it to your kid.

Just a suggestion.

Love,

Cindy

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

