A Little Moment

Standard

There’s a good possibility that Zoey caught my cold, which makes absolute sense because she and I are always close. Even though I was careful about washing my hands, etc., etc., it was still bound to happen.

Here’s the deal:

Last night, as I was putting her to bed, she started sounding congested.  I didn’t think much about it because she frequently sounds that way around bedtime and it passes within a few minutes of her falling asleep (I mentioned it to the pediatrician and she didn’t seem to concerned). But the stuffy-sound didn’t go away and it kept waking her up during the night.

I got up with her. Greg got up with her. And when he finally got her to settle down again, she was so restless because she couldn’t breathe well (and it didn’t help that she wanted her binky at the same time). So, I took her downstairs and cuddled with her in our recliner. My thinking was that maybe if she slept on my shoulder, she would be able to breathe better.

We were down there for about an hour. She was still restless, but it seemed to be more from not being able to get comfortable on my shoulder. At the same time, I knew there was no way I was going to be able to fall asleep in the chair.

I ended up taking her back upstairs to her crib after she was really deep in sleep. Or, at least, I thought she was. As soon as I placed her in her crib, she woke up and smiled at me sleepily. Then she reached up with both hands, put them on either side of my face and pulled my face down to hers for a sloppy baby kiss.

And then she fell back asleep and slept through the rest of the night.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

