Breakfast with Zoey

Standard

Up until this past Sunday, Zoey showed minimal interest in anything food-wise we put on the tray of her booster seat. She expected that Mommy or Daddy would give her anything that tasted good on a spoon or fork, so why bother? She would touch food put on her tray, run her fingers over it, squeeze whatever it was between her fingers and just generally make a mess before shoving it off her tray for the dogs to clean off the floor. The only thing that she’d really mastered holding and feeding to herself were her Mum Mums because, we think, they’re long enough to stick out of her hand, so it was easy to get them to her mouth.

On Sunday, I decided to give her a blueberry muffin for breakfast. Normally, she loves blueberry muffins and will eat at least half of it. Like we have in the past, I started out feeding bits of the muffin to her on a baby fork. But she kept pursing her lips and pushing my hand away. I tried breaking a little piece of muffin off in my hand and feeding it to her with my fingers, but that only worked for one bite. Something was wrong. She seemed a little frustrated and she wasn’t eating anything.

I told Greg that just for kicks I was going to put her in her booster seat and put the muffin on her tray to see what she’d do. I put the muffin, her baby fork and a bottle of juice on her tray.

 At first, she didn’t seem all that interested in doing anything other than holding the fork in one hand and touching the muffin with the index finger of her other hand. She was just kind of checking things out.

And then the destruction came. She realized it would be great fun to rip the muffin apart and make a huge mess all over her tray and the floor surrounding her. But she still wasn’t eating any it, which was frustrating for me because I wanted her to eat SOMETHING.

In the meantime, I had made coffee for myself and had brought my own breakfast–a doughnut–into the living room. I sat down next to Zoey and almost immediately, she started staring at the doughnut on my plate (she’s already learned the rule that every kid learns that whatever Mommy and Daddy have tastes ten times better than what you have on your own plate). So, I gave her a little piece and she ate it with no problem. I gave her another piece. Down it went. So, I broke of about an inch-long piece and held it out to her. THIS IS THE COOL PART: she took it from my hand, looked at it for a few seconds in her hand and then brought it to her mouth and started nibbling on one end. Like I said before, it was the first time she’s done it with something other than the Mum Mums–and the piece of doughnut wasn’t nearly as big as the Mum Mums were.

Greg and I were SO excited and we kept giving Zoey pieces of doughnut to eat.

After the doughnut was done, she looked down at the muffin pieces that were scattered on her tray and it’s like she saw them in a new light. We could practically see the wheels turning in her head.

And then she started eating the muffin! Imagine our excitement! Our baby girl was getting the hang of feeding herself right in front of us.

Anyway, when all was said and done, Zoey had eaten about 90% of the doughnut and about 20% of the muffin. And she looked like this:

So serious–with the chocolate on the face! I started to clean off her tray, but Zoey insisted on helping me. Notice Scout playing the part of the vacuum cleaner in the background. He likes blueberry muffins too.

When I was ready to start cleaning her face off, she did this:

That’s her baby fork. In her mouth. By herself. HOLY FREAKING CRAP! Nothing food-wise was actually on the fork, but still. She knows where the fork goes and she got it there herself. Does this mean the days of Mommy and Daddy trying every trick in the book to get her to open her mouth are ending? Could it be we’re getting closer to serving Zoey a meal and her doing the rest?  It’s exciting and sad at the same time because she’s growing up way too fast.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

