Some Weather We’re Having….

Standard

A typical half an hour trip home last night took over an hour. Let me explain.

First the sky started getting dark–shades of blue slowly turned into a disturbing gray/green color. Then the thunder and lightning made everyone in the office jump because it sounded like it was way, way, way too close for comfort. The rain started off small, but within seconds it was one of those storms that makes me want to curl up under a blanket with some coffee and a good book. And then the hail. It pelted the windows fast and hard, sounding just like someone was throwing pencils over and over again.

Big pieces of hail.

And you couldn’t see outside the window anymore because the storm was so fierce.

Greg texted me and said that 1.the storm wouldn’t last that long and 2.it was only raining lightly at our house a half an hour away.

He was right about the length of the storm. All together it probably lasted about (I’m guessing) a half an hour (if that). And then it was suddenly gone; the sky lightened in color and the sun even decided to make a surprise appearance.

Then the sirens started.

Oh my gosh, it seemed like for twenty minutes straight police, ambulance and fire trucks roared up and down the street outside of where I work, sirens blaring. I’ve worked in the city for a few years now and I’m used to hearing the occasional siren outside the window. But this. Seriously. It doesn’t exactly inspire confidence when the sirens just keep going and going and going.

It got to the point that I couldn’t concentrate on my work, so I wandered over to Syracuse.com to see if they were covering wherever all of the sirens were headed. Turns out, the storm had brought complete and utter chaos to the city and because I was stuck in an office building with only a view of other office buildings outside the window, I had no clue.

Flooding. The highway north and south was closed. People had to abandon their cars because water had suddenly risen up to the bottoms of their windows. Trees had fallen on houses. There was a report of a building actually collapsing. It. Was. Nuts.

I got out of work about a half an hour after the rain ended and on the walk back to the parking garage, there wasn’t evidence of all the weather craziness at all. The sidewalks were wet, but the sun was out and people were already emerging from the buildings to enjoy a few more minutes of the first really warm day of spring. It didn’t seem all that bad and I actually thought that maybe the reports online had been exaggerated. Maybe people had overreacted a little bit.

But then a five-minute drive to the gas station ended up taking at least fifteen minutes because traffic was ridiculously dense. Everyone was being routed off the highway (north AND south), which meant that there was a traffic jam at EVERY LIGHT. And even after I got gas, I ended up driving all the way through the city again just to find a way to head home that didn’t include the highway. It took forever because everyone and their mother was in the same boat I was and no one had any clue how to get out of the city without using the highway.

Cops were everywhere, but still I didn’t see any crazy signs of the storm. When I got to my mom and dad’s house to pick up Zoey, Mom told me that they had shown a car on the news that had water up to its windows. Crazy.

This morning when I went on Facebook, I found one of my friends had posted some footage of the storm damage from one of the local news stations. Sure enough, there was crazy flooding, abandoned cars, everything. How amazing is it that all of that was going on and yet, where I was–not very far away at all–there were no signs of it? And where Greg was, it had only rained (sans hail).

But this post isn’t all about the crazy storm. As I mentioned, yesterday was the first really warm day we’ve had this spring, so Zoey wore shorts for the first time. Is there anything more adorable than a baby in shorts? I love those chubby legs.

In fact, she looked so adorable, we Skyped Greg’s mom and stepdad (A.K.A. Nana and Poppy) in Florida so they could see what a cutie Zoey is. And of course, she had to show off her rolling over abilities. The girl has mad rolling skillz, yo.

Here, look at my cute kid in shorts:

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

