I Blame William and Kate

Standard

Everyone likes a fairy tale–a prince falls in love with a girl who cleans house for her evil stepmom and sings to woodland creatures. He whisks her away to live in happily ever after and we’re all left sighing in contentment. Everybody is happy and life is wonderful.

Maybe that’s not exactly what happened with William and Kate, but it seems like everyone has royal wedding fever right now simply because these two kids want to make it official. It’s on the TV, it’s on the radio–there are t-shirts, rings, comic books and more that you can buy to commemorate an event taking place a whole ocean away.

People were even planning on getting up at 4 in the morning to watch them wed.

I am not one of those people. In fact, I’ve been pretty unfazed by the whole thing because as much as I wish those two kids good luck, don’t they deserve at least a bit of privacy on such an important day? I don’t care about who designed her dress*, what celebrities were invited** or what presents guests will buy them***. The whole thing didn’t affect my life, so I felt only a slight interest in the event. But everyone else seemed to have gotten caught up in the event.

Even my daughter.

Yesterday at my mom’s house, Zoey tried to kiss a boy. Let me explain how big this is: up until now Zoey kisses were reserved for Mommy, Daddy and Grandma Hoose (per Zoey refusing to give them to anyone else). But this boy, Logan (who is only a little over a year), apparently stole her heart because as he was playing with some toys next to Zoey, she lunged towards him, arms stretched out and her mouth open–an obvious sign that a slobbery baby kiss is on the way.

I figured I had at least until Zoey was a year old before boys came into the picture. After all, I didn’t have my first boyfriend until third grade. Zoey is only ten months. And when said third-grade boyfriend tried to kiss me in the coat closet of Mrs. MacDowell’s third-grade class room, I shot out of there like my butt was on fire. But Zoey is the one giving the kisses. Clearly, she doesn’t take after her mother and clearly we’re in trouble.

But on a positive note, she has a lot to offer this boyfriend. She’s getting pretty good at using the sippy cup, she’s fun-loving and likes to cuddle. Plus, she gives high fives like a champ and just last night, she spent about twenty minutes waving to herself with both hands. So maybe this relationship will work out.

Zoey didn’t want to give me any details about this boy other than to grin when I asked her if she had a boyfriend. Clearly, they’re taking things slow and just seeing what happens. No need to pry, Mom. I know she’ll tell me about it when she can say more words than ‘Da Da’.

As for William and Kate, I totally blame them for the fact that my daughter is starting to show interest in boys. If romance wasn’t in the air from their impending wedding, then Zoey would be busy doing what she usually does–eating her board books, watching Dora the Explorer and blowing raspberries while eating.

*It IS a beautiful dress.

**David Beckham and Sir Elton John

***The toaster is in the mail

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

