Keagan’s Birthday Party 2011

Standard

When  a girl turns six, you have to throw a party, right? My niece, Keagan, had her birthday party this past weekend.

Keagan is a girly-girl and she’s really into playing with her hair, so we bought her a bunch of headbands, hair ties and other girly stuff. And we bought her a cute card. When we loaded all of our stuff into the Mommy-mobile to head to the party, (not even thinking) I put Keagan’s present and card right next to Zoey’s seat. For most of the trip to my sister, Colleen’s house (about a ten-minute drive), Zoey happily played with the toys attached to her car seat. But the last couple minutes of the trip, she was kind of quiet–Greg and I didn’t really notice (or at least think anything of it) because we, in the front seat, were chatting away about something.

When we got to my sister’s house, Greg opened the door to the back seat and said, “Uh oh.” Not a good word to hear when you have a curious little girl in the backseat that was (we realized in hindsight) quiet for a couple of minutes. This is what we found:

Yeah, Zoey’s going through a stage where she likes to eat paper. Greg asked her how it tasted as he gently took the envelope away from her and I swear she answered, “Eh.” maybe she likes eating her board books better. We told Keagan that Zoey wanted to give her card kisses.

Here’s the culprit, looking super cute:

Yes, she has a barette in her hair because, oh my gosh, she looks so cute like that.

Here’s the adorable birthday girl, who greeted us at the door with hugs:

We were the first people to get to the party, so Greg, Zoey and I hung out in the living room while family members trickled in. Zoey decided to give the birthday girl kisses:

There was lots of food at the party and Zoey loved sampling spinach dip, a kaiser roll, strawberries, deli turkey and ham and cheddar and provolone cheese off Greg’s and my plates. She even tried taco dip, which apparently was fine until she tasted a bean and looked like she had eaten a sock. Apparently, she’s not a fan of beans just yet (except green beans).

We discovered, though, that she loves sweetened tea. Greg gave her a sip out of his cup at the party and she just couldn’t get enough of it. In fact, she kept reaching for his cup for more. But when I finally broke down and put some in her bottle to drink, she acted annoyed (with a little sigh and a slap of her hands on her legs) that it wasn’t in a big-girl cup (we’re still working with a sippee cup, but I figured the bottle would be easier for the party since she’s still transitioning).

When all of the party guests were present and accounted for, Keagan got down to the most important aspects of the party–presents and cake. The theme of the party was zebras, so there were black and white streamers hung everywhere, Keagan’s dress had zebra stripes on it and here’s the cake:

My sister, Cheryl, made the cake and transported it all the way from Rochester with three kids and a dog in the car without incident (her husband was in the car too, but probably he wouldn’t have caused a ruckus. Hi Ben!). Look how awesome it looks (I’ve already hit her up for making the cake for Zoey’s 1st birthday party). And it tasted just as good as it looks! The top circular half was marble and the bottom was super-crazy chocolate (I tried that half. AWESOME). It was SO good and Zoey couldn’t get enough of it. In fact, Greg had a piece of the marble with vanilla ice cream and I had a piece of the chocolate with chocolate ice cream–Zoey sat in between us and just kept turning back and forth to share with both of us.

Cheryl has mad cake-making skillz, yo. She really needs to start her own business.

So, we ended up spending most of the afternoon at my sister’s house. Zoey enjoyed acting shy whenever someone told her she was beautiful and playing with her cousins. Greg and I enjoyed taking ten million pictures of Zoey and visiting with family, whom we don’t get to see nearly enough.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

