Wednesday* Props–Truck Owner in Green Hills Parking Lot

Standard

The other day when I went grocery shopping after work, I saw a sign in the back window of a truck that said, “To all our veterans: Thank You.” It was a simple sign–just something someone typed out in a Word document, printed and posted on their truck’s back window with some tape. But it made a big impression on me because, frankly, I don’t think our Veterans (and active service men and women) are appreciated enough.

They leave their families–husbands, wives, significant others, kids, parents, siblings–behind and go God only knows where to fight to preserve freedoms that you and I take for granted every day. Some return fine, some are injured and some never come back. They don’t know what their fate will be when they leave, but they still go. To fight for all of us.

This isn’t anything new. I know you’ve heard all of this a million times. But remember, the events of this past Sunday took place because some brave souls put their lives on the line. And for that, they have my utmost respect.

But there have been other soldiers and other wars–we need to remember that too. We, as a country, need to take care of those that have already returned from such a physically and mentally traumatic beast. They need to be appreciated and thanked every day for their part in protecting our way of life. They need to know we respect and honor them. Even if it’s just by placing a simple sign in the back window of a vehicle.

*I know it’s Friday. You’re lucky it got done this week at all.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

One response »

Leave a Reply

