Does NOT Taste Like Chicken

Standard

Zoey is really interested in the four teeth she has right now (2 bottom and 1-1/2 top). She’s constantly chewing on her fingers or rubbing her tongue over the bottom two. Last night, Greg and I noticed her flicking them with her finger. She’s just fascinated and that’s all well and good except for the downside of her fascination.

Biting.

Lately, Zoey has taken to biting her sleeves, my shirt, Greg’s shirt and, um, my mom’s shoulder. It only happened once and it wasn’t like she was doing it maliciously or anything, but it’s put Greg and I on high alert for scolding her when she bites things that aren’t considered food. Like paper. Or Greg’s phone.

She’s just curious and she doesn’t realize that some things aren’t supposed to be eaten. Like her socks. Or her overalls.

We keep giving her Mum-Mums to chew on (she wasn’t entirely into the original-flavor ones–most likely because they taste like cardboard). But now we buy her strawberry ones and she gobbles them down in minutes. We have yet to try the biscuits–you know, the really messy ones–but we have a box at home just waiting to be opened.

On the plus side, she has taken to table food really well and is pretty much totally off baby food–with the exception of a jar of fruit with her baby oatmeal for breakfast during the week. But we’ll probably start the whole weaning process on that pretty soon too because she’s totally ready to handle real oatmeal and she loves normal big-girl fruit.

Here’s Zoey eating pancakes and mixed fruit for breakfast this past weekend. She’s sitting in our screened-in porch since the weather was so lovely.

Notice she’s only got one sock on. Yeah, that’s pretty typical of how she tends to look at our house.

So this is what we’ve been trying to teach Zoey: pancakes are for eating. Clothing is not. Mum-Mums taste yummy. Daddy’s phone does not. And also, we do not bite family members out of curiosity to see what they taste like.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

