Par-TAY, Part 2 (Invitations)

Standard

When I originally came up with the bright idea of throwing Zoey a birthday party, I figured we’d probably just order some super-cute invitations through Shutterfly.com so that her picture could be on them. 50 invitations couldn’t cost THAT much, right? Oh, I am such a silly girl.

After looking at the prices on Shutterfly and having a  mental conversation with a little thing I like to call reality, I decided that maybe it would be more cost-effective to look into alternative invitation options. I didn’t want to buy a box of invitations and write the same stuff fifty times because 1. my handwriting hasn’t changed since I was in third grade and 2. none of the little boxed sets really impressed me (mainly because they didn’t have a place for my Zoey’s picture. Oh Shutterfly.com, I love you so!).

And then at some point, I got another brilliant idea (read: insane) that maybe I should go all crafty and MAKE the invitations. All fifty of them. Because I am apparently on crack.

How hard could it be, right? I searched the Internet for ideas for cute homemade cards and got a few ideas, but nothing that made me think, oh, this is IT! And then I received a copy of Scrapbooks Etc. magazine in the mail and there it was–the perfect idea for Zoey’s invitations. Just a little tweaking here and there so that the invitation has two sides and can incorporate a picture of her and the most important information of all: location, bring a dish to pass and we’re going to have cake and ice cream!

Okay.

I bought the paper and to get started a few weeks ago, but hadn’t had much of a chance to actually sit down and get to work. Then last night it dawned on me that I have to get cracking on these things because they need to go in the mail very, very soon. I sat down and cut the main paper into rectangular shapes for the 2-sided cards. And I cut some balloon shapes out of other paper, put the two together and…it looked like crap. Seriously. I spent probably a half an hour last night and a good forty-five minutes before work this morning trying to place the stupid balloons in such a way that it would look like someone older than six made the cards. And still, it wasn’t working.

So in a moment of total frustration, I ditched the balloons design and decided to use my backup design (a pennant banner). I’m still working on this one because FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, CAN I PLEASE JUST DRAW THREE STRAIGHT LINES TO MAKE A TRIANGLE?!?! Apparently not.

Now I’m on a mission to make these stupid invitations and get them in the stupid mail before I pull my stupid hair out.

I’m starting to see why Greg said he’d leave all the planning to me.

And that has been your update on how the party planning is going.

The end.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

