Juggling

Standard

Oh Haiii! Sorry you haven’t heard from me in a while. This past weekend ended up being super-chaotic, which was not cool at all because I had wanted to get a lot done. Ask me how much I actually got done. Go on, ask me. Answer: not much at all. The best laid plans and all that.

I had planned on starting my Spring cleaning, which meant pretty much a total overhaul of our house and garage in an effort to get rid of the clutter that seems to be choking us and clean, clean, clean. Er, I got a couple of loads of laundry done and transferred a bunch of pictures from our old computer to our new laptop. And Greg did the dishes. Seriously, that’s how crazy the weekend was and I only left the house once.

Here’s the thing: Greg ended up having to put in extra hours helping a friend with a painting job, so he was gone for a big chunk of Saturday, which meant it was just Zoey and I trying to hold down the fort. No big deal, usually, except Zoey was in one of her ‘you-can’t-go-more-than-one-foot-out-of-my-range-without-me-being-upset,-Mommy’ moods, which meant what I was able to do cleaning-wise was limited (that’s when I did the laundry and folded clean clothes).

Plus, there were cute baby feet to tickle and Dora episodes to watch and silly faces to make to get smiles for pictures. And someone had to feed Zoey because she just refuses to make her own lunch. So, Saturday was a pretty full day.

Saturday night, Zoey woke up pretty much every fifteen to twenty minutes and refused to settle down for what seemed like FOREVER. And when we did finally get her back to sleep (Greg and I took turns), she always woke up again within a short time. Needless to say, none of us slept the best. So, Sunday ended up being a resting day because we were all exhausted.

I did end up getting my grocery shopping done at the super-Walmart in Cortland yesterday, but that’s about it. I had wanted to get so much Spring cleaning done since Saturday had ended up being such a bust in that area, but it just wasn’t going to happen. Zoey was cranky because she was so tired and Greg and I kept looking at each other with eyes only half-open. Gah.

And when I finally got Zoey to bed last night and I sat down to work on the invitations for her birthday party, she started fussing on the monitor. It ended up being another crappy sleeping night, although not nearly as bad as Saturday night. I’m not sure what’s going on with her unless she’s cutting another tooth. Any suggestions on what it might be and how to combat it?

We did give her some Mylecon because she seemed to have some gas and she finally did fall into a deep sleep around midnight last night. But since last night was the second night in a row that she’s been restless and her crappy nights are usually pretty few and far between, I’m a little on the worried side.

Any ideas are totally welcome in the comments section.

As for the Spring cleaning, I’m putting a lot of hope on this coming weekend. My Mom is going out-of-town on Friday, so I took the day off from work due to lack of babysitter. I’m hoping that since I’ll be having a long weekend, I can get a lot done. But since Greg won’t be around during the day, I’m a little wary of trying to work on chores with Zoey if she’s in one of her clingy moods. Since I aspire to someday be a stay-at-home mom, I’d love to hear how some of you do it. How do you keep your house up and running without turning into a disaster zone when you’ve got a little one pretty much permanently glued to your hip? I adore Zoey, don’t get me wrong, but I just want to find some kind of balance between spending time with her and getting chores done.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

