The Return of Nana and Poppy

Standard

After being in Florida for about five months, (and lots of e-mails, phone calls, Skype visits and photos), Nana and Poppy have returned to New York and we couldn’t be happier! This past Wednesday night, Greg, Zoey and I drove to the airport to pick up Carol (Nana). We weren’t sure how Zoey would deal with the whole thing because 1. she had been so young when Nana had left for Florida and 2. Zoey still isn’t over her whole anxiety-around-people-other-than-Mommy-and-Daddy thing. Plus, Carol’s plane was due to arrive at 8:00 p.m., which is about an hour after Zoey’s bedtime.

Greg and I sort of expected a cranky baby to suddenly appear in the middle of the airport. I loaded my purse with a couple of toys, a diaper, some puffs and a bottle of juice and we set off to pick up Nana.

Turns out, we had nothing to worry about. Greg carried Zoey and she didn’t seem upset when Nana gave her a kiss–in fact, she seemed more puzzled about why Nana was in front of her and not on the computer screen like she had been for a few months. She reached out and laid her hand on Nana’s cheek, which is totally a sign that Nana is IN with Zoey (and you definitely want to be in with Zoey if you don’t want her to completely flip out when Mommy or Daddy go out of her sight for more than 1.5 seconds).

When we got to the baggage claim, Zoey sat on Nana’s lap while Greg looked for Carol’s luggage. Zoey stared at Carol and listened intently while Carol talked to her. She seemed pretty relaxed with Nana and I told Carol that Miss Zoey doesn’t act this way with everyone. Clearly, she and Nana had picked up right where they had left off when Carol had gone to Florida.

Carol and I sat in the back of the Mommy-mobile on the way home from the airport. Zoey (who was still completely awake at this point) showed off for Nana by balancing her binky on her socked foot and playing with one of the toys that hangs off her car seat (we refer to the toy as Mr. Elephant, even though the elephant is pink). She also showed Nana how much she could talk, which delighted Carol because that meant she got glimpses of those little white teeth Zoey has been sprouting lately.

Zoey did end up falling asleep halfway home, which gave Greg, Carol and I time to catch up (including filling Carol in on all the crazy stuff Zoey has been doing lately and hearing some of Carol’s stories about when Greg and his sister, Kim, were growing up).

The very next day, Carol called to see if Zoey could visit her for a while. So, Greg picked Zoey up from my mom’s house a little earlier than usual and visited with his mom for a little bit. The following day, Chuck (Poppy) arrived from Florida and within a couple of hours of getting home, I got a phone call asking if Zoey could visit them again. So, Greg, Zoey and I spent a good portion of the afternoon at Nana and Poppy’s house.

Zoey might not have wanted Greg and I too far away from her, but at the same time, she clearly recognized their house and immediately seemed to feel comfortable. She played on the floor in their living room, watched Dora, played with Nana’s special beanie bears and even laughed at Poppy when he crawled across the floor towards her.

Like I said, they’ve all picked up where they left off when Nana and Poppy went to Florida. And Nana and Poppy were worried Zoey wouldn’t remember them. Clearly, they had nothing to worry about.

Who’s happy Nana and Poppy are back? This girl.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

