It’s All Fun and Games Until Someone Pops an Elbow

Standard

Before we get to the elbow-popping incident, let me just say that yesterday was completely chaotic and crazy, but I totally have to give super-huge props to my niece, Skylar, for helping to keep me from going insane in the middle of Walmart. She is one awesome chick and she was an amazing help with the groceries, Zoey, Spring cleaning, etc., etc. Plus she told me I looked good before I had even taken a shower, so I think we’ll keep her.

The day started with me having the brilliant idea of trying to get some Spring cleaning done. I felt better than I had on Thursday and Friday and I wanted to take advantage of feeling better by cleaning the house and getting rid of as much clutter as possible. The only problem with my plan was  that Greg was going to be gone for the day and I knew that without Daddy in the house, Miss Zoey would most likely want Mommy to be by her side at all times. So, I asked Skylar to spend the day with us–she’d babysit Zoey and I’d clean and do regular household chores until it was time to go to the family Memorial Day picnic at my parent’s house in the evening.

Just to remind you–this was my THIRD attempt at Spring cleaning and I was hoping it would be a lot more successful than the other two times when I had gotten a total of nothing done.

Zoey and I picked Skylar up at her house early in the morning and after getting home, introducing her to the dogs (Scout loved her), giving Zoey breakfast, having a cup of coffee and telling Greg goodbye for the day, I was ready to get started on the daunting task of cleaning and decluttering.

One problem–Zoey didn’t want to play with Skylar. She wanted to permanently attach herself to Mommy’s hip. Poor Skylar wasn’t sure what to do and she tried every trick in the book–watching Dora, playing with baby toys, acting silly–Zoey wasn’t having any of it.

And in the middle of all of that, my mom called and asked if we wanted to go to Walmart with her because she had some shopping she had to do for the picnic that night. Since I had to do some shopping myself, we all piled into the mommy-mobile and took off for Cortland.

Zoey sat in the cart for a few minutes when we first got there, especially when Mommy decided that Zoey needed a shiny new pink ball ($1.00–can’t beat that) to play with. But after a while, she got restless–most likely because she was in dire need of a nap. In the meantime, Skylar was pushing one cart with our brand spankin’ new microwave in it (a whole other story) and I was pushing Zoey and our groceries in the other car. And then Zoey wanted me to carry her because she was so tired. So, I ended up carrying Zoey while simultaneously trying to push my cart with my elbow. Skylar was from then on my ‘Could-you-just-go-over-there-and-get-(fill in product name here)-off-that-shelf-for-me?-Thanks’ girl. Again, she was a super-help.

Zoey fell asleep on my shoulder and at one point, Skylar ended up pushing one cart and pulling the other one, which reminded me of those ladies on Extreme Couponing, a show I’m totally currently obsessed with.

We finally got out of Walmart, got back home, I fed Skylar and Zoey lunch and then I attempted to get back to cleaning again. This time, since Zoey had slept and was fed, she was slightly more okay with spending time with Skylar as long as I stayed in the general vicinity, which meant I worked on dusting the living room and our cabinet with Zoey’s snacks and baby-equivalent of TV dinners in the kitchen. At one point, Skylar was even holding Zoey on her hip while she chatted with me (very big. Zoey doesn’t let just anyone pick her up and carry her around). So I was finally able to get some Spring cleaning done, although not nearly as much as I had been planning on doing.

But then Zoey got tired again in the afternoon and only wanted Mommy to hold her while she fell asleep. So, Skylar and I ended up hanging out in our living room, watching the Disney channel.

In the early evening, Zoey, Skylar and I went to my mom and dad’s house for a Memorial Day picnic. My sisters, Cristy and Colleen were there, along with Cristy’s boyfriend and Colleen’s kids and husband. Mom gave me a blanket to spread out on the ground for Zoey to play on with her young cousins, Rowan and Keagan, and we took a booster seat outside so Zoey was all set to eat with the rest of us. Once again, Skylar was a big help because she cooked a hot dog for Zoey while I wrestled Zoey into her booster seat. We already knew Zoey likes hot dogs, but it turns out she’s a big fan of potato and macaroni salads. She gets that from me.

Everything was going well and everyone seemed to be having a good time. Zoey even tried on my mom’s hat (she has to wear it when she’s outside in the sun for long periods of time because she has Lupus) and I snapped a picture of how absolutely adorable she is.

My younger sister, Cristy’s boyfriend, Nate, was playing with my two younger nieces, holding onto their wrists and spinning them through the air until it felt like they were flying. The girls loved it (and c’mon, how many times did we beg to be spun around like that when we were kids). But, it turns out, when you spin a kid around like that, you should always hold onto them under their armpits because otherwise their elbow can pop out of joint. Sounds crazy, right?

Yeah, it happened at the family picnic yesterday to my niece Keagan. My sister, Colleen, and her husband, Seth, ended up driving to the emergency room because Keagan was in so much pain and sure enough, it was because her elbow had popped out while playing with Nate. And it was clear poor Nate felt really bad, although no one blamed him. It’s just one of those things that a lot of people do when playing with kids because they don’t know the danger associated with it.

In fact, the only reason I know about the elbow-popping possibility is because the exact thing happened when Keagan’s older sister, Skylar (yeah, the one who helped me like whoa), was little. My other sister, Cheryl, was spinning Skylar around and her elbow popped out. It’s weird and kind of gross and OMG DO NOT SPIN YOUR KIDS AROUND IN THE AIR WHILE HOLDING THEIR WRISTS UNLESS YOU ENJOY TRIPS TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM.

Once Keagan’s arm was popped back in (bleh!), I’m told she felt a lot better.

And her little sister, Rowan, in her concern for Keagan, told their brother, Zac, that she doesn’t think Uncle Nate loves them. When Zac replied that Uncle Nate does love them and asked her why she thought he didn’t, Rowan replied, “Because he broke Keagan!” She’s four years old.

Shortly after Colleen and Seth left for the emergency room with Keagan, Zoey and I headed home because Zoey was getting cranky and it was totally after her bedtime. She ended up falling asleep almost immediately after we got home, which meant that I was free to get more Spring cleaning done. But, by then, I was too tired. It had been a long day and I didn’t have any more energy left. So, I gave up and watched Everybody Loves Raymond with Greg for a while before falling asleep.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

One response »

  1. I just read your blog about the elbow popping that is crazy that happened to our oldest son when he was like 2 my nephew was spinning him and he pooped his elbow

Leave a Reply

