Our Microwave Craps Out

Standard

Last week our microwave decided that it had had enough and it started sparking and making very suspicious buzzing noises when I tried to heat up a hot dog for Zoey’s supper. Naturally, Greg and I turned it off right away and upon opening the door, we both smelled smoke (Greg said it smelled like ozone). We decided to leave it be and splurge for a new one because how am I supposed to cook dinner without a microwave? I kid, although the microwave has been a godsend for heating up Zoey’s dinners, as she is not the most patient of diners when she’s hungry.

This past Saturday, my mom, my niece, Skylar, Zoey and I all ended up at Walmart and I found a microwave that I liked. Sleek and black and just the most gorgeous thing I had ever seen (where microwaves are concerned). Problem was, I had forgotten the paper that Greg had written the dimensions on at home (after he told me not to forget it. Love you, Honey!) and I worried that maybe the model I had fallen in love with was too big for the shelf space we had in our kitchen.

I was concerned for maybe two minutes. Five tops. And then Skylar and I wrestled the big box into a cart, which she got to push around the store for the next half hour or so while I shopped for groceries.

When we got home from shopping, I was too tired to even attempt to move the microwave out of the back of the mommy-mobile. So, it sat there until Greg came home. In the meantime, I made macaroni and cheese for Skylar and Zoey for lunch. A little while later, Skylar wanted a bit more and we decided to try the old microwave one last time to heat it up.

We turned it off within five seconds of operation. That buzzing noise was just too disconcerting and I don’t think Greg would have understood if Sklyar and I had burnt the house down while our brand spankin’ new microwave was sitting in the back of the mommy-mobile.

As of now, the old microwave is in our mudroom while we decide its fate. The new microwave is on the shelf in the kitchen (it fit perfectly!) and it works wonderfully. I am in love. And all it cost was $107.00. Ugh.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

