Wednesday Props–Tully Firemen

Standard
Wednesday Props–Tully Firemen

This is an extra-special Wednesday Props because it involves people I know–even a couple members of my family:

Sometimes when someone you know is going through something tough, they don’t need financial support as much as they need emotional support. Friendship. Just to know someone is there by their side, holding them up on their bad days and cheering for them on the good ones. It comes down to just doing something to show you care.

On Memorial Day, the firemen of Tully rallied around one of their own. Dave, a volunteer fireman, had been going through a nightmare no one wants to face–his wife was sick. She had been diagnosed with cancer and had already been receiving radiation treatments. She’d lost her hair. So Dave shaved his head. Simple as that.

But everyone knows about the brotherhood of firemen and how they support each other. So on Memorial Day, the firemen of the Tully fire department shaved their heads to support Dave’s wife. Just a little something, but I bet it meant the world to her.

But here’s why I am so incredibly proud: my brother-in-law, a volunteer fireman, and my nephew, fireman-in-the-making, were there and ready to get their heads shaved.

Here’s my brother-in-law:

And here’s my nephew:

I don’t think you could get much prouder than I am when I see those pictures.

And here’s the whole crew:

Kudos, Tully firemen. Kudos.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

2 responses »

    • Thanks for the comment! I was really blown away by what you and your fellow firemen did for Fran. I had my first view of the firemen brotherhood when my brother-in-law passed away years ago and ever since then, I’ve just been in awe of it. Good for you guys! Also, I hope Fran is doing well.

Leave a Reply

