Zoey’s First Memorial Day Parade

Standard

We’re lucky enough to live right on the main roadway of the Memorial Day parade in Preble. Granted, it’s really the only road they can march down because Preble is so small, but whatever. Last year, I was busy being ridiculously pregnant and not being able to move or breathe very much to go outside and watch the parade. But this year, Zoey, Greg and I went outside and sat on a blanket in our yard to watch the festivities.

See the blocks next to Zoey? $5 dollars at Walmart and it comes with a little cart to carry them in. Totally worth the money.

 Before the parade even started, Miss Zoey was being absolutely adorable and I had to a couple of pictures of her.

The parade was nice, albeit short (this is Preble, after all; not exactly a booming metropolis). And I had a happy surprise when I saw my nephew riding on the back of one of the Tully fire trucks.

Here’s the thing: my brother-in-law, my sister’s first husband, was a volunteer fireman. who always marched in the parades for the Tully fire company. I remember going to parades with my sisters to watch Shawn march and feeling proud when I saw him in his dress uniform.

He passed away in a car accident when my nephew and oldest niece were really young. But every time I see a fire company marching in a parade, I think of him and those parades we used to watch him march in. This past Monday, when I saw the Tully fire trucks in the Memorial Day parade, I thought of Shawn and my eyes teared up.

Then I spotted my nephew on the back of the last truck. “Is that Zachary Thomas back there?” I asked Greg and grinning, Greg answered that he thought it was.

And then the waterworks started. Tears streamed down my face while I grinned like a loon and took pictures. Zac, Shawn’s son, is so much like his dad and has already showed interest in joining the fire department when he’s old enough. I could not be a prouder aunt (oh wait, I can. See what Zac and his stepdad did that afternoon here).

You can see the pictures I took from the parade here. I had to take the pictures on Greg’s cell phone because our camera’s battery died right before the parade started.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

