Goodbye, Kaylee

Standard

I’ve decided not to write about Kaylee’s last days. Those memories are saved for Greg and I. Instead, here is a celebration of her life:

I wasn’t always a dog person. I grew up around dogs–Mom and Dad always had at least two outside dogs while I was growing up and it was only when I was older that they got Bandit, their first inside dog (who they refer to as my brother. Lordy). But I could take them or leave them.

And then I met Greg and just completely admired his love for animals in general, especially dogs. When he and I got together, Kaylee had already been in his life for over a decade. She was the lady of the house and a complete Daddy’s girl. She was the epitome of loyalty and seeing the two of them together made me fall in love with dogs too.

Here’s some things you should know about Kaylee:

1. She used to be so fast, she would literally run circles around other dogs at a local dog park.

2. She never liked to be in a room without Greg for more than a few minutes. Even if he walked from the living room to the kitchen, she would wait a few minutes and if he didn’t come back, she’d make her way to the kitchen and plop down near him.

3. She liked taking walks in our backyard and in the cornfield beyond.

4. She wasn’t the pick of the litter. In fact, she was the runt.

5. She was a total diva with an attitude.

6. When she was younger, if children ran past her too fast, she’d run after them, grab their jacket in her mouth and try to slow them down. The herding mentality from her ancestors.

7. She used to hide her treats in Greg’s couch and if he found them, she’d have to hide them somewhere else.

8. She was fearless when she was younger.

9. She loved yelling at Scout when he simply walked past her. He was clearly the annoying little brother to her.

I remember the first time I met Kaylee: like I said, she was the lady of the house and I sort of felt like I was meeting Greg’s daughter for the first time. I actually felt a little nervous because I wanted her to like me, to approve of me for Greg.

I had bought Burger King for supper for both Greg and I. We sat in his living room and ate dinner with Kaylee staring at me from the floor. And I’ll be honest, she totally played me. She stared at me and I gave her a piece of my burger to show her I was a good person and ohpleaselikemebecauseIloveyourDaddy. But she kept staring at me. So I gave her another piece. before I knew it, I had given her over half of my burger. And thus started her bad habit of whining every time Greg or I were eating.

She was an amazing dog and we’ll love her forever. Maybe to some people she was ‘just a dog’, but Greg and I always saw her–and all of our dogs–as more than just pets. They were our first children before Zoey came along. Think about it. You love them, take care of them, discipline them and raise them–yeah, it’s parenting even if they are furry children.

She had a wonderful life and she will not be forgotten.

We love you, Kaylee.

For pet lovers like Greg and I, there are pet loss websites out there that help you deal with grief. We’ve been looking at a few of them recently. On one of them, I found this, a poem about seeing your pet in Heaven. It gives me comfort.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

