Par-TAY, Part 3 (Invitations, the Sequel)

Standard

Let me just take this opportunity to freak the crap out at the fact that Zoey’s first birthday party is only a couple of weeks away and I feel like I have still have a whole lot to do for this party. A LOT. My days will now be focusing solely on the party (you know, except when I’m at work or driving or dealing with Zoey’s teething…) to get everything done.

But first:

WHEREDIDIPUTTHEENVELOPESFORTHEINVITATIONSOMG?!?!?!

They have been MIA for a couple of days now and I have no idea where they could have gone. A couple of weeks ago, on Spring cleaning attempt #3, I moved the box of envelopes somewhere (for safekeeping. HA!!!) and now I can’t remember where I put them.

I have about four more invitations to send out and they can’t go in their original envelopes (which were done a couple of weeks ago) because Brutus spilled coffee all over them. I was able to save the invitations, themselves, but the envelopes were a lost cause. So I was going to put them in different envelopes but WHERE ARE THEY?!?!

On a side note, I am fully aware that even with new envelopes these invitations should have been sent out a while ago. Procrastination, people. I’m SO not joking. I was writing thank-you cards for my baby showers while being induced in the hospital. So, you know…

Anyway.

I started out planning this party with the idea that I was going to make all 50+ invitations by hand and everyone would see how (maybe) crafty I could be and Zoey would think it was so cool that I put the time in when she looked at them at an older age and puppies and kittens and world peace. But then it took me FOREVER to get just seven done and I called it quits because, um, in case you haven’t noticed, my life has been a little chaotic lately and making invitations from scratch just has not been a priority.

So after a lot of soul-searching (because I kind of had my heart set on making all of the invitations),  I decided to swallow my pride and buy some store-made Dora the Explorer invitations. But I had already made seven originals, so I decided Greg’s and my immediate family would get those and everyone else would get the super-cute Dora ones. It’s nothing personal to anyone. If I had a staff of people working for me, it might have been different and everyone would have gotten crafty ones. But I’m not a machine. And the birthday girl has been teething and we’ve been taking care of a sick dog and have had crazy-busy weekends and have I mentioned I still haven’t gotten the Spring cleaning done?

All this being said, look at the invitations in all their glory:

The picture is mounted on plain white paper and then on the brown cardstock. I cut out triangles of patterned scrapbooking paper and adhered them to white paper prior to cutting out the pennant banner.

I am pretty proud of the originals, I have to say.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

