For Greg, On His First Father’s Day

Standard

Since June 25th, 2010, you have:

Changed very smelly diapers

Made silly faces

Cuddled in the morning

Played blocks and other various games

Danced

Made bottles in record time

Acted surprised at the simplest things

Carried Peanut outside to the car almost every morning before work

Met me at the car almost every day after work to carry Peanut inside

Learned to read Peanut’s grouchiness (sometimes better than Mommy can)

Made silly noises

Sang songs

Babysat

Played airplane when giving medicine

Played racecar in Walmart

Gone to every doctor’s appointment

Fixed Peanut’s first boo boo

Marvelled at her beauty

Gotten up in the middle of the night

Soothed a sleepy baby

Helped give baths

Picked out girl clothes

Gained confidence in yourself and your abilities

Loved our baby girl more than anything else in the world

You are the most amazing father and I know that growing up, Zoey will appreciate the fact that you’re going to be there for her all of the time. I’ve watched you grow in this new role of parent and I have to say that I am completely blessed to 1. have you in my life and 2. have you as my best friend and partner in crime. You want to show Zoey the world while protecting her from it. You want to give her everything while teaching her to appreciate what she has. You’re amazing because you’re a dad. HER dad. I love you so much and I look forward to watching you and Zoey play, laugh, cry and grown together.

Happy 1st Father’s Day, Greg. You’re the best.

P.S.–It isn’t a coincidence that Zoey said DaDa first. She wanted to make sure she was a pro at it in time for Father’s Day.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

