And Now a PSA for All the Ladies

Standard

Recently, a close person to me had a health scare that took me out of my normal little dream world and rushed me back to the hard, jagged coldness of reality. She had had a mammogram and the doctor had seen ‘something’. That dreaded unknown something. She got a call a few days after her appointment and was told that the doctor wanted to look into it some more. And oh, let’s schedule your appointment for three days later so that you have ample opportunity to worry. It was scary for a lot of people for a few days while we waited for the follow-up appointment to arrive. But I can’t even image what this person went through, wondering. Waiting. Worrying.

The day of the appointment came and I know I was on pins and needles waiting for the phone call–good or bad. We all wanted to know what was going on. If something was there, we wanted to get it fixed. Doctors are there to fix things, right?

Thankfully, the doctor found nothing this time. Apparently, whatever had been spotted in the first mammogram was gone. Just for good measure they scheduled another appointment for six months out to make sure everything was still okay. This person in my life, whom I love so much, dodged a bullet in a way. Cancer (that very scary C word) is very prevalent in this person’s family and honestly, I think most people who knew about the unexpected follow-up appointment were worried that the C word was what the doctor had spotted on the first mammogram. But it was gone. Whatever spot or blip or whatever had been there was gone. Relief. Happiness.

And now, the lesson:

Girls, get your ta-tas checked annually, especially if your family has a history of cancer. There is nothing more scary (I would imagine) than hearing those words that the doctor has ‘found something’. But wouldn’t you prefer them to see something and be proactive about it as early as possible? Don’t put it off because you’re worried about being uncomfortable at the appointment. A few minutes of being uncomfortable is worth it if it could save your life.

I know this experience, although I was only a player on the fringe, has made me realize how important it is for me to get myself checked. Cancer is huge in my family, as well as in Greg’s family, which means that I will be nagging Zoey Grace to get checked annually when she’s older. The next time I go to my doctor’s office, you better believe I’ll be saying, “So, when can we do a mammogram?”

Get yourself checked. It will be worth it.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

