Countdown To Zoey’s First Birthday Party (Day 1 of 5)

Standard

OHMYFREAKINGOD It’s supposed to rain all of Saturday? Who came up with this weather pattern? Mother Nature, I am SO looking at you right now. Do you know how much planning I have put into this party? And the freakin’ stupid crafts that I made that are PAPER and will wilt as soon as water touches them?!?!?! There were going to be streamers, for God’s sake.

One day. One day out of the whole summer I prayed for no rain and now I find out it’s supposed to rain. All. Day.

Okay. Deep breath. I can do this. Rethink tables to move gifts, goodie bags and EVERYTHING ELSE out of the potential touch of rain droplets.

On a related note, the house is a disaster zone because it has been taken over by party preparations. There are currently centerpieces on top of our cabinet and wood stove. Presents for Zoey (in bags so she can’t see them) line our office and stairway and there are tubes of unopened wrapping paper on our kitchen floor. And cut streamers all over our table (which I can now, apparently, not even use thankyouverymuch, Mother Nature).

And also? Yesterday Greg’s Mom reminded me that someone should get plates. PLATES! How could I have forgotten about the plates?!?! We have silverware, stupid centerpieces, a special dress and a cake, but plates? Bah! Apparently, I figured people can eat on their hands.

And did I mention it’s supposed to RAIN?

If you need me on the 25th, I’ll be under the pavilion with my wet paper products. I’ll be the one watching the rain while crying, drinking strawberry margaritas and eating chocolate.

Level of panic (from 1 to 5): 5!!!! We are at Def Con One here, people.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

