1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi

Standard

It is now 5:37 a.m; I’ve been up since 3:00 because little Miss Zoey woke up fussy and pretty much refused to go back to sleep no matter what Greg and I tried. Greg cuddled with her, I rocked her. In all, it took us an hour and a half to get Zoey back to sleep. In that time, whenever we tried putting her in her crib and going back to our bed, if she would make a sound, I’d play the ‘1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi’ game. I know all the parents out there have played it before. It’s just like with lightning and thunder. Right after Zoey made a sound, I’d start counting seconds to see if maybe she was on her way to falling asleep or not. The more Mississippi’s I counted, the better the chance of her nodding off. If she started really fussing, the game was over and I’d get up to cuddle with her for a bit.

I played the game at least four times between 3:00 and 4:30 this morning.

She finally fell into a deep sleep around 4:30, but by then, it was too late for me to go back to sleep because I had to get up at 5:00 (and Lord knows, if I fall asleep at 4:30, nothing short of a miracle will get me out of bed just a half an hour later). I came downstairs and started working on the dreaded streamers for her party on Saturday. Ugh. Most likely I’m going to pay for getting up so early later today when all I want to do is take a nap.

 

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

