Dear Zoey (On Your First Birthday),

Standard
Dear Zoey (On Your First Birthday),

On this day last year, probably right about this time (5:52 a.m.), I was trying to get a little more sleep before Daddy was due to arrive at the hospital to spend the day with me. I had spent the night there because my doctor had wanted to try for a second time to get you to come out and meet us. Up until then, you weren’t having any of it and I was starting to think you were planning on staying in my belly forever.

And then that night (at 7:46 p.m.) you were born and you changed Mommy and Daddy’s lives forever.

We love you so much and have enjoyed watching you grow over the past year. There is nothing more fascinating to me than watching you learn, seeing you discover the word around you. You are the most amazing little girl and it still blows my mind that you’re part me.

Neither Daddy nor I thought we’d ever have kids until we met and fell in love. We talked about it and left it up to God and Fate and you came along. We were both so excited when we found out I was pregnant. I’ll be honest, we were both really scared, too, because we wanted your life to be safe and perfect and we worried that maybe we weren’t going to be good enough. In fact, when the doctor told me it was time for you to make your debut, I looked at Daddy and said, “I can’t do this.” I was talking about the delivery part, but all of my fears had come to a head and I was SCARED. But Daddy just looked me straight in the eye and said, “Yes, you can.”

When you were born and they placed you in my arms, I touched your skin for the very first time and (like every parent out there) counted your fingers and toes and I thought, “Yes, I can.”

I loved you from the moment I saw you. I wanted to hold you forever, shield you, protect you and give you the moon, the stars and everything else. I wanted to be the best mommy I could be. When you were born, my life completely changed–for the better because now you were there.

You made us a family and you’ve taught Daddy and I so much in the past year. We love you because you’re you and I promise we’ll always be by your side through thick and thin. You are our Peanut, our Zoey Grace, our beautiful little girl.

Today you turn one year old and it makes Mommy so incredibly proud and excited and a little sad because you’re growing up so fast before our eyes. But I look forward to many, many, many more years of watching you become the person you’re destined to be. Just remember Mommy and Daddy love you with all of their hearts and that will never, ever change.

Happy birthday, my sweet girl.

Love,

Mommy

P.S.–Ignore Mommy if you catch her tearing up today. She’s just so incredible happy and probably she’s got something in her eye.

 

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

