Par-TAY, Part 4 (The Dress)

Standard

Originally, I wasn’t planning on getting Zoey a special dress for her birthday party. I wanted her to be comfortable and I figured if she’s anything like me a dress was not the way to go. But just on a whim I started looking around online to see what was out there. Just for fun. No harm in looking. Probably I wouldn’t find something I liked anyway.

And then I did.

Lookee what I found on Amazon.com:

I wasn’t entirely excited about the big dots, but they were doable because they actually matched the colors of Zoey’s party.  I liked that the dress had sort of a satiny 50’s party-dress vibe to it. Plus, the original picture that I looked at made the dress look more off-white, which I adored. But, it was this part that I fell in love with:

The cuteness! I loved the fact that the balloons called out that Zoey was the birthday girl and oh! The ribbons as balloon strings are just adorable!

So, I fell in love with the dress, but it was super-expensive through Amazon, Kohls and pretty much everywhere else I looked–except J.C. Pennys.com. It just so happened that they were having a sale the weekend I found the dress online and if I acted fast (the sale was only for a couple of days), I would get $20 off the regular price, which made it more doable cost-wise.

I ordered it.

What I got was a cotton, whiter-than-white (like, get out in the sun, girl, you need a tan STAT) with a crazy empire waist (because apparently, baby dresses are not allowed to be made without empire waists. I guess you can only get the lower waist when the kid is older). The cuteness factor had gone down some, but I still liked it, even though I wasn’t entirely happy that it wasn’t off-white (it looked better in off-white).

So, I ordered a 12-month size because I bought it back in February and I reasoned that since Zoey would be turning 12 months on the day she’d be wearing the dress, it was probably safe to get that size. Back in February, she was sticking pretty much to her age group size-wise (ex. when she was six months, she was wearing six-month stuff and only a little bit of nine-month stuff). But, as soon as the dress was delivered to the store and I took a look at it, I could tell that it wasn’t going to be big enough for her. Girlfriend had just finished going through a growth spurt and my mom and I worried that by the time June rolled around, the dress would be way, way, way too tight on her.

Back it went and I ordered an 18-month size. When that came in, I worried that it would be too small by her birthday. Greg and I tried the dress on Zoey and it was still a bit big (back in February/March), so I decided that was good enough and it went into her closet until now.

Hopefully, it will fit today. Hopefully, she’ll be comfortable in it.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

