Zoey’s Birthday Party (In Pictures)

Standard

I need to beg, borrow and/or steal pictures of the party from people. Greg and I were so busy at the party we didn’t get nearly as many pictures as we wanted.

So, the day started out with rain. A lot of it. I got up at 4:00 in the morning because I was just too nervous/excited to sleep. I only had a few things left to prepare, so by the time Greg and Zoey woke up, everything was pretty much set. We let Zoey open a couple of presents in the morning so she could take her new toys to my mom’s house to play with while Greg and I set up for the party at the park. And then it was just a matter of loading up the mommy-mobile and heading to my mom’s house to drop off Zoey, pick up my niece, Skylar, and head to Walmart for last-minute stuff.

Skylar (who was an awesome help, by the way) and I got to the park around 9:30 and immediately went into party setting-up mode, even though it was raining buckets at the time. By the time Greg got there, about forty-five minutes later (he was running all over Cortland getting ice, ice cream and charcoal), it had stopped raining and the humidity was making my hair stick out pretty much in every direction.

Greg’s mom, Carol, and step-dad, Chuck, showed up to help us finish decorating and I took off the pick up the party girl from my mom’s house. By this time, it was 11:30.

Mom warned me that Zoey had had only a short morning nap, but there wasn’t a whole lot I could do about that. I wrestled Zoey into her birthday girl dress and stopped for a moment while my dad took pictures of her. Then I borrowed an umbrella from my parents to transport Zoey to the mommy-mobile because it was raining hard again.

Thankfully, it wasn’t raining at the park or I probably would have started crying.

Okay, here’s the birthday girl with her mommy:

Zoey is totally thinking, Mommy, get the camera away from me.  And I’m praying, Please don’t let it rain. Please don’t let it rain.

The awesome cake (created and transported over two hours by my sister, Cheryl):

Thank you to Cheryl for all of her hard work–and also for the suckers on the top of the cake because I couldn’t find the candle. Gah.

Zoey had lots of presents:

 And they’re all over our living room now.

We opened presents until Zoey decided she had had enough and needed a nap like whoa:

She and I sat on top of a picnic table so everyone could see us

And then came the cake. We gave the whole top layer to Zoey to see what she would do (we changed her out of her pretty birthday dress first). Zoey was much more interested, though, in daintily eating the green icing off the top of the cake. But she still managed to smear it on her face. The camera’s going off while she was eating her cake were unreal. It honestly looked like the paparazzi because the flash was nonstop.

Before

After

It was so crazy, in fact, that Greg and I decided the day after the party would be a chill day at our house.

The day after post-party exhaustion:

Yeah, we don’t look alike at all

Thanks to everyone who helped us put together the party and clean up afterwards. Special thanks to my mom, Cheryl, Colleen, Kim and Carol for making food, Carol, Chuck and Skylar for helping us set up, my mom for helping me cut streamers, letters and other crafty details and Carol for helping me pick out goodie bag favors and other details (and also for reminding me that we needed to get plates). And super-special thanks to Skylar for rushing through Walmart with me the morning of the party, talking me off a ledge when it rained, helping to decorate (which meant touching a spider at the pavilion) and just being one awesome chick.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

