Let’s Talk About Poop, Baby

Standard

*This is one of the many posts that Zoey will inevitably find embarrassing when she’s older. This makes me giggle because I have the maturity of a teenager.

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve been in the position of having to describe my daughter’s bowel movements in the past couple weeks. It’s weird–when she was still pretty new to the world, we realized that she could basically just look at a banana and get constipated. In fact, I rarely gave her banana baby food because of the effect it had on her. Constipation–that was the problem that she seemed to have once every couple of weeks or so. But it was more or less under control.

And then we started her on table food, juice and milk–not all at the same time, mind you, but she seemed to tolerate everything so well and she was clearly not into baby food anymore (the refusing to eat anything that even LOOKED like baby food kind of clued us into that one), so we allowed her to keep going, keep trying all kinds of new stuff.

And then the poop came.

It started a couple of weeks ago. She’d have serious poop episodes (I will spare you the details) pretty much at least once a day. At first, I wasn’t too worried because, well, at least she was pooping (see above explanation about constipation) and she was clearly feeling fine–still eating, sleeping well and just generally getting into everything within her reach. No need to worry, right?

And then she had what will go down in our family history as THE POOP EPISODE TO END ALL POOP EPISODES. I won’t tell you what it looked like (although it may or may not rhyme with Linty Loore Leef Loo), but it was EVERYWHERE and thank God Greg was home to help me wrestle poor Zoey out of her sundress while simultaneously trying to say the words to Patty Cake (to keep Zoey calm), grab as many wet ones as possible and not puke. Suffice it to say, that little experience made me worried.

This happened on the Sunday after her birthday party (thank God it didn’t happen at her party) and I e-mailed her doctor (another reason why I love Dr. Jones) and asked her what to do. Everyone had told me not to worry until the poop looked a certain way and trust me, IT LOOKED THAT WAY.

Dr. Jones e-mailed me back (on a Sunday. Uh huh. I adore her) and said to cut out Zoey’s milk altogether to see if maybe that was causing the problem. Apparently, some kids have trouble with the transition between formula and whole milk. Although Zoey had been on whole milk for weeks, she had just recently started drinking at least a full sippee cup of milk for supper (along with having milk with her cereal for breakfast) and I guess her little body had decided that it was just too much.

We cut out the milk and two days later, I called Dr. Jones because OMG WITH THE POOP. Zoey had four big poop episodes before 1:00 p.m. in one day. Dr. Jones said no more juice and to give Miss Z some Pedialyte so she didn’t get dehydrated.

Okay. Pedialyte tastes like drinking a lollipop. I know–Greg and I tried a sip before giving it to Zoey. We thought for sure she wouldn’t like it, but it’s like crack to her. She basically goes through one whole jug of Pedialyte a day.

The next day, Zoey had her regularly-scheduled one-year appointment with Dr. Jones. Because Zoey happened to have a soft, but not crazyomgitseverywhere poop episode that day, Dr. Jones said we could try introducing one to two ounces of milk for a few days to see how Zoey reacted. If she seemed to tolerate it, we could increase the amount. And if everything went well and she got back on the milk, we’d work on integrating juice again. If she couldn’t tolerate whole milk, we’d try soy.

So now we’re on poop watch 24 hours a day. I always call my mom to check on Zoey at least once a day while I’m at work and now I always ask how the poop situation is going. I texted Greg the other day to let him know that Zoey pooped at Mom’s house and it was kind of a big amount. I’ve given detailed poop accounts to my sister, Colleen, and Greg’s sister, Kim (both nurses) and even my editor knows about Zoey and the poop issue because I took work off Monday (the day after THE POOP EPISODE TO END ALL POOP EPISODES occurred) to keep an eye on Zoey since she was acting like she didn’t feel well.

We gave her about two ounces of milk with her supper tonight–the first time since all of this happened. She chugged it down like she’d been thirsty for days. Hopefully, it will settle in her tummy okay. Hopefully, she’ll be able to go back to drinking milk regularly since she seems to like it so much. Hopefully, we won’t have to start buying wet ones, diapers and stain remover in bulk.

Number of times I said poop in this post: 16 (just in case you were wondering)

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

