No More Bottle and Formula

Standard

We are currently on Day 2 of no formula and bottle for Zoey, as she’s in the middle of transitioning over to whole milk and a sippee cup. I should clarify that. She’s been using a sippee cup for the past three or so months–with the exception of first thing in the morning when she has (up until yesterday!) her one and only bottle of the day. But yesterday, Greg and I decided it was time to get rid of the morning formula bottle because she doesn’t seem to be too interested in it anymore (she only drinks a couple of ounces of formula before pushing it away and is hungry again a short while later) and she’s been on whole milk with her breakfast cereal and supper for at least a month and a half now (with a short break in the middle when she had crazy-OMG-poop issues. You can read about that here). So, it’s not like it’s a huge transition for her.

But if you had seen the dirty looks I got yesterday from her, you would have thought otherwise.

Greg got Zoey up as usual yesterday morning, changed her diaper and brought her into our room for some cuddle time while he watched the Today show and I took a shower and got ready for work. Up until yesterday, this would have been the time that Zoey had her bottle. But yesterday, Greg tried to give her a sippee cup instead. Zoey took one look at it and started howling. I happened to walk out of the bathroom off our bedroom at the same time and saw both Zoey and Greg with matching scowls on their faces. Zoey didn’t like the ‘no bottle’ rule and Daddy didn’t like that the time he has had every morning (since she was first born) to cuddle with Zoey was suddenly gone because she had made it crystal clear–no bottle, no cuddling. To Greg, it was like she was growing up too fast, like we’d be packing her up and shoving her out of the house to college by the end of the week. To Zoey, no doubt, her parents were already totally ruining her life.

This morning went a little smoother, although Zoey glared at me when Greg handed her the sippee cup. She took two small sips as if to say, “FINE! I’ll try it. God! Why do you always have to NAG me, MOM!” And then she cast the cup aside and popped her binky back in her mouth. Without taking her eyes off me. It might have made me a little self-conscious–the staring–if I didn’t know for a fact that it wasn’t going to kill her to give up the bottle. She was just testing me, testing how long she could push me before I broke and started promising her bottles and ice cream and puppies.

But I stood my ground.

And I guess she decided that she could forgive me because when I sat down next to her on our bed a few minutes later, she leaned over and gave me a kiss before going back to watching the Today show.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

2 responses »

  1. So, in like 2 weeks we’re going to be here ourselves. I’m starting to get my game plan in order now. i started her today with a bottle of Almond Milk instead of her afternoon formula. I can’t lie…I’m kinda nervous

    • Good idea with the almond milk– I never thought of that. I was nervous too because Zoey is all about routine and I know she enjoyed her morning bottle while cuddling with Greg. But it’s actually going a lot better than I thought it would. Aside from that first morning, she hasn’t put up too much of a fuss. Don’t worry. I’m sure Zoe will be fine with the change–especially since you’re easing her into it.

Leave a Reply

