Wednesday Props–Sergeant 1st Class Leroy Petry

Standard

Forget Superman or Spiderman or Batman. In this country, we have REAL heroes, who fight for our freedom every day. As such, let me present to you Sergeant 1st Class Leroy Petry.

This guy is just completely amazing. Even when he was shot in both thighs, he was able to continue leading his team during battle–to the point of even picking up a live grenade in an effort to throw it away from his fellow soldiers. The grenade went off and Sergeant Petry lost his hand. Was he done being a hero? No. He APPLIED HIS OWN TOURNIQUET and CONTINUED TO LEAD HIS MEN.

Here’s what the army has to say about him:

“He has deployed eight times in support of overseas contingency operations with two tours to Iraq and six tours to Afghanistan”. Holy crap. That, alone, is truly respectable. But look what else they said:

“He has also been awarded two Bronze Star Medals, a Purple Heart, three Army Commendation Medals, two Army Achievement Medals, Valorous Unit Award, three Army Good Conduct Medals, National Defense Service Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal with Combat Star, Iraq Campaign Medal with Combat Star, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Non-commissioned Officer Professional Development Ribbon with numeral 3, Overseas Service Ribbon and the Army Service Ribbon”. (source: www.army.mil)

See where he was the guest on The Daily Show here. Fast forward to 13.02 to see the interview about an amazing, amazing man.

The word kudos doesn’t do justice for this solider or his story. In my own little way, I salute him because, wow, he deserves it (also, he and his wife have FOUR kids, which makes them good people in my book).

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

