Walking (Sort Of)

Standard

So, last Friday Zoey decided she’d had enough of crawling (her preferred mode of getting around) and walked three wobbly steps from my sister, Cristy’s arms to my mom’s arms. And then she turned around and took one step back before falling down on her bottom. Greg and I were SO excited that she had taken her first steps and SO bummed that we hadn’t been there to witness it. We tried to get her to walk over the weekend, but other than a tiny step here and there while holding one of our hands, she refused to move without crawling.

Then on Monday, Zoey apparently decided to show off her mad walking skillz (yo) because she kept taking about three steps from my sister, Colleen, to my mom and then back again. Over and over again. That night, she took a couple of steps from Greg to me and then back again.

Every time she walked, we made a big deal out of it–clapping and cheering for her, which you could tell she loved.

But last night.

Oh my goodness. The three of us were at Nana’s house when Zoey decided to pull herself up on one of the chairs in Nana’s living room, and walk seven steps across the room to where I sat in the floor. SEVEN STEPS! Granted, I was holding an enticing animal cookie for her to eat when she got to me, but still…. (hey, I’m totally not above bribing my kid. I held up the cookie for her to see and not only did she walk seven steps to me, but I was also able to keep her still for ten seconds so I could change her diaper. Usually, I have to chase her bare butt around the living room when I try to change her).

We were all SO excited and we tried to make a big deal out of it, although I think Zoey was much happier about the cookie.

But with new steps come new hazards.

Last night, Zoey bumped her head on one of Nana’s chairs and she started crying like her little heart was broken. I held her and kissed away her tears while Greg took a look at the little bump growing on her forehead and Nana handed her another animal cookie to calm her down. Forget Mommy’s kisses and Daddy’s comfort, Zoey was all about the cookie and within a couple of minutes, she was crawling all over the floor again.

We know that more bumps and bruises will inevitably come–especially while she’s learning to walk–but it’s still hard to see our baby’s tears streaming down her cheeks. And to see a big purple bump on her forehead. Nana was so worried about her, but like I said, Zoey forgot all about the incident within minutes of it happening.

And because she had done so much traveling around Nana’s house, she fell asleep in her car seat on the way home. Girlfriend didn’t even wake up when I got her out of her car seat and carried her in the house and all of the way upstairs to her crib. Walking is hard work, people!

My baby is walking. Kind of. Excuse me while I wipe away tears. Probably there’s something in my eye.

P.S. for Nana–the bump is already starting to fade. Clearly, your animal cookies have healing powers.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

