Extreme Returnables

Standard

Amongst everything else that was going on yesterday (long story, don’t ask), Greg and I decided to take back all of our returnables. Here’s the deal: after Zoey was born taking returnables back became a much harder task than one would think because first, she went through a stage where she hated sitting in a cart (and Mommy and Daddy needed both of their hands to feed the crushing machine, so we couldn’t hold her). Second, she hates loud noises which we thought would be a huge problem in a small room with bottles and cans rolling around. And third, when did we have the time? Thus, we ended up with many, many garbage bags of bottles and cans just sitting in our mudroom, waiting for us to do something with them.

Yesterday, I got out of work early to take care of a couple of things and when I got home, Greg and I got the wild hair to load the mountain of garbage bags of bottles and cans into the Mommy-Mobile and Greg’s car and head to Walmart to get rid of them. We picked Zoey up from my mom’s house and then I followed Greg to Cortland.

The whole process took about an hour because we had so much and for the first ten minutes or so, I was holding Zoey while trying to help one-handed. But I realized I wasn’t getting a whole lot done with one hand, so I put Zoey in the front of a cart with her sippee cup and a bag of Cheerios to snack on and I got to work.

When we were down to about a half a cart left, Miss Zoey started getting frustrated. She’d been sitting in the cart for a while and I have to say, she was a total trooper about the whole thing. The loud noises didn’t seem to bother her; she was much more interested in eating a few Cheerios and dumping some on the floor. She had been so good for so long and I think it just got to the point where she decided she had had enough (plus, she had only had one forty-five minute nap for the whole day. So, she had to be tired–and it was getting closer to suppertime).

She started fussing and because she had already thrown all of her Cheerios on the floor, she didn’t have anything else to snack on. And the only thing I had left in my purse was some Lindt dark chocolate (the good stuff!!). Greg broke off a square for Zoey to eat and he and I went back to work on the bottles.

Zoey was quiet for quite a few minutes–enough time for us to finish with our returnables, gather our little tickets and look for the nearest sink to wash away the stickiness from our hands. When Zoey turned to look at me, this is what I saw:

She was so happy. Chocolate makes me happy too. And see that white spot on the floor? Yeah, that’s a Cheerio.

I think it’s safe to assume she liked the chocolate. It was all over–on her hands, down her shirt. Clearly, she had a great time eating it.

After we were done with the returnables and cleaned up, we walked through Walmart to pick up a few groceries we needed. I think Zoey liked riding around in the cart and being about to look around at everything.

When we got up to the register, Greg whipped out our little returnable receipts to put towards the groceries we were going to buy. Our total was around $40.00 prior to using our returnable receipts. Then the cashier started scanning our receipts and Greg and I watched as the total kept going down, further and further down. It was totally like that show Extreme Couponing (which is a prominent member of our DVR ‘MUST RECORD’ list), which was kind of cool and kind of weird at the same time because we’ve never done anything like that before.

In all, our total was brought down to around $12.00, which Greg and I gladly paid while the cashier said that she’s never seem anything like it before (just like on Extreme Couponing!).

We left the store pretty excited, loaded Zoey and our few groceries into the Mommy-Mobile and were ready to take off when all of the sudden Greg reached into his pocket and found one last returnable receipt that he had missed when counting up the other ones. Ironically enough, it was the receipt for the most money out of all of the receipts (a little over $15.00). Greg went back into the store and cashed in the receipt, which totally reimbursed us for what we had spent on our groceries.

Not too shabby for something we decided to do  on a whim.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

