Tech Savvy

Standard

It started when she was only a few months old–her fascination with the remote to the TV. Zoey seemed to understand pretty quickly that if you pushed buttons on the remote, it made things happen on the TV. So, she’d push buttons over and over again and then look directly at the TV to see what changed. She was about four months old.

Then we started noticing weird things saved on our DVR–like the Today show, which Greg and Zoey watch together every morning while I’m getting ready for work. I asked Greg if maybe he had seen a story on there that he wanted to save and he said no. Weird. I erased it and thought nothing of it. But then weird things like Good Morning America, which we never watch, and only a few minutes of a sitcom showed up on the list. We finally figured out Miss Zoey had gotten a hold of the remote control and had found the record button.

Then she became fascinated with our cell phones, which brought about a memorable instance where Zoey was sitting on my lap in our living room and I was talking to Greg and all the sudden I heard my mom’s voice saying, “Hello? Hello!” Turns out Zoey had gotten into the contacts list on my phone and had called Grandma Hoose. Greg and I hadn’t known she was even in the list until I heard my mom’s voice. Zoey has also called Uncle Vince (Greg’s friend), Aunt Colleen (my sister) and most recently, Nana (I hung up as it was dialing and Nana called back to make sure everything was okay. Needless to say, she thought it funny that Zoey had been the one to call her).

This past Wednesday, I let Zoey play with my phone for a while. What could it hurt, right?

I noticed Thursday morning that she had changed the wallpaper on my phone. I know this because there used to be a generic picture of a flower on the background and now there’s a picture of Greg. Also, the picture is sideways. I didn’t put it there. Somehow, my kid was smart enough to go into…I don’t even know how to do it! But basically, she went through a couple of menus to put Daddy’s picture on the background of my cell phone.

And this morning, I went into my contact’s list to look for a phone number and I noticed I have a new entry. The contact’s name: no name; their phone number: 8. As far as I know, I have no friends or family with a telephone number of 8. I’m pretty sure there has to be more digits in there for it to be a real number–but no one has told Miss Z this yet.

It has become clear that Zoey is happiest when she’s playing with something electronic–extra points if it makes noises or lights up. But she’s only fourteen months old–I refuse to buy her an iPod or her own cell phone just yet. But, at the same time, she’d love it if I did. And she’d totally listen to music and call people all the time–just like a teenager.

She’s been showing a lot of interest in our laptop lately. She likes to sneak over to it when she thinks Mommy and Daddy aren’t looking and push as many buttons as she can. And when we walk towards her, she squeals and tries to hit even more buttons before we reach her.

She’s trouble, that Zoey.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

