Pooptastic

Standard

We noticed on Saturday that Zoey’s poop had turned bright green. We’re talking Emerald City green, summer grass green–green enough to make me think, ‘huh’, when I changed her diaper. Bright green is just not a color you usually see in a baby’s diaper.

Mentally, I made a list of the foods Zoey had eaten in the past twenty-four hours, thinking that maybe if she had something super-green like peas… All she had had out of the ordinary was some garden tomato and herb potato chips at Greg’s dad and stepmom’s house on Friday night. Zoey had eaten a bunch of the chips before supper. Would that really be enough to change the color of her poop so drastically? I wasn’t sure.

Her second bowel movement of the day was more of the same and the following morning (yesterday morning), it was the same story. Green. WHAT IS UP WITH THE POOP?

Here’s the thing: Zoey was up and down all weekend like maybe she’s teething again. She took long naps and had bouts of crankiness. She didn’t eat a whole lot at some meals and ate a ton at others. It was kind of like she was PMSing, actually. She’s been popping out teeth right and left in the past couple of weeks, so it’s not that much of a surprise that there might be another one on the way. But we wondered if the potential teething might be somehow what was causing the green poop. And I was totally ready to believe that was the case until she had green poop incident #4 last night. Then I decided it was time to go straight to the expert on all things: Google.

Yeah, I know you can’t believe everything you read online, but I figured SOMEONE out there had to have had a child with bright green poop at one time or another. Maybe I could find some information that would shed a little light on the subject. Sure enough, I did.

Turns out (all moms and dads pay attention here) that if a child drinks a lot of artificially flavored grape drink, the color of the drink can actually ‘react’ with the bile juices color (um, gross) and the result is a pretty bright green poop. So, let’s back up. Grape drink, such as Kool-aid or  Crystal Light (Or, in our case, the generic Walmart brand of Crystal Light), which is actually made of blue crystals (that somehow turn the drink purple) mix with yellow bile crap and make green. Wonderful.

Zoey had been drinking quite a bit of grape drink between days at my mom’s house and our house on the weekend. It just sort of happened that way because she seems to enjoy the grape taste and we were out of any other type of juice. Thankfully, I bought more juice last night, so this won’t be a problem. She’s going to be taken off grape drink for the next few days to see if her poop turns back to the normal brown. When it does, she’ll only have grape drink a couple of times a week. We’ll definitely change it up more often.

Problem solved.

So, have any of your children ever had problems with their poop in this way? What other colors of the rainbow could I possibly witness in my child’s diaper? Please share in the comments section.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy BlogsVote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

