See You Later, Nana

Standard

A lot of you already know from Facebook, but for those of you who don’t, Carol, Greg’s mom, Zoey’s Nana and my dear, dear friend passed away Monday morning after a long battle with cancer. She was a tough fighter and quite possibly the strongest person I have had the privilege of knowing. And in the end, it wasn’t cancer that won–no way–Carol passed with so much grace and dignity; she did it her way–just as she wanted.

It’s funny how before starting to write this post, I had so many things I wanted to say, but now my mind is completely blank. I wish I could succinctly put into words how amazing Carol was, but it’s impossible because the caring, the thoughtfulness, the tenderness she showed everyone was just so deeply ingrained in her soul; it was just second-nature for her to lend a helping hand or a shoulder to cry on. So maybe the best way to tell you all about Carol is to introduce her to you.

This is Carol:

She was the first one other than Greg and I to hold Zoey at the hospital–she had basically camped out there with Greg’s sister, Kim. And when Carol, who had just stepped out for a couple minutes to get some dinner with Kim, heard a baby cry when she stepped off the elevator, she made a beeline for my room because she just knew that was her Zoey Grace.

This is Carol:

One of the first times I saw Carol, we were at a picnic and she and I were in line next to each other at the food table. She looked at the bowl of potato salad and the bowl of macaroni salad and said, “Ohhhh, I really shouldn’t have both.” And then after a second, she added, “But maybe I’ll have a little of each. I’m such a carb whore.” And that’s when I knew she and I would be good friends.

This is Carol:

When she recounted stories of Greg and his Nana, she would pretend to act annoyed with how her mom spoiled Greg. And yet, she spoiled Zoey just as much.

This is Carol:

She called everyone, ‘Hon’ and sometimes she referred to me as ‘mama’ because I was so new at the mommy thing. She referred to Zoey as ‘Dolly’,  ‘our baby’ and sometimes ‘my baby girl’.

This is Carol:

She was such an amazing mom and Nana and I can’t even tell you how much it meant to me when she sent me a card on my first Mother’s Day and wrote that I was doing a great job and I was a great mom.

This is Carol:

My 2nd mom, my surrogate Nana, my really, really good friend. God, I miss her so much already.

It’s never goodbye–I know that. But, right now, that doesn’t make it any easier.

We love you, Carol. You will always be in our thoughts. And we will make sure Zoey knows all of the stories and sees all of the pictures. She will know how amazing you were–and that you were, and always will be, her Nana.

P.S.–I hope when Zoey has kids, I can be a Nana just like you.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy BlogsVote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

4 responses »

  1. Cindy, Greg and Zoey,

    I’m very sorry to hear about Carol. I know this has got to be such a tough time, and to be honest, I have no idea what they right thing or most comforting thing to say would be, but I want you to know you’ve all been in my thoughts a lot the past few days. This post was very nice and helped shine a light onto the kind of person Carol was. I love the picture at the end and I’m sure Zoey, as well as you two, will cherish that picture forever. Stay strong and try to focus on all the good times you had the privelage of having with Carol(Mom/Nana).

    Cristy

    • That totally made me cry. Thanks Cristy. You were worried about what to say, but at the same time, you said all the right things. I hope Zoey sees her Aunt Cristy soon. Thanks again.

  2. Cindy – what a beautiful way to give tribute to Carol! I only met her once but your article made me cry because I can’t imagine how painful this is for you guys. I agree with Cristy – that picture at the end is wonderful. Such happiness on both faces. Hopefully someday you’ll be able to find peace knowing that she is watching over you. We’re thinking of you guys and sending lots of love your way. ❤
    Love,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

