Decorating the Tree–Zoey-Style

Standard

Last Friday, I came home from work to find Christmas music on the stereo, our Christmas tree in the stand and Greg hanging decorations. I have to tell you after finishing what might have been the most stressful week EVER at work, it was nice to come home to our cozy house and have some family time with Zoey and Greg. Mr. Lang made supper while Zoey and I added some more decorations to the tree. Well, I added decorations, Zoey pretty much took them out of the ziplock we had stored them in and carried them around the house.

The next morning, Greg finished up the tree decorating and after Zoey watched him for a couple of minutes, she decided to join in. She chose the same spot to put all of her decorations–where a couple of branches overlap and sort of form a little shelf. If she put a decoration on the branches and it didn’t fall through, she moved onto the next one. If it did fall through the branches, she’d pick it up and try again. It was absolutely adorable to watch.

We clapped our hands and praised her for helping Daddy decorate the tree and she was so excited and getting into it so much that after the decorations were all taken care of, she started to look for other stuff to put on the tree. First, she tried the Ziplock bag that we kept the decorations in and then she tried to hang her shirt on one of the branches.

But the absolute best was when the following morning she tried to put her sippee cup on the tree. Since it was full of juice it, of course, fell through the branches, but Zoey was completely unfazed. She just picked it up and walked away. Apparently, she had just wanted to try.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy BlogsVote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

