Homemade Christmas Presents 2011

Standard

Because money was tight this year, Greg and I decided to get crafty and create Christmas presents for our family. This is what we came up with:

For my nieces, Rowan and Keagan:

  

Both girls love doodling and writing. So, I took two sketch pads and decorated them with scrapbooking paper (patterned and cardstock). The coloring  and fish stickers I found in Walmart. The crayon boxes are glued to the paper, as is the mini notebook. I covered the mini notebook in paper scraps I had leftover from covering the book. The words are made of alpha stickers (Rowan’s name is in all caps because she’s just learning to recognize her name. That’s also why all of the words are near each other on her book).

For my niece, Skylar:

I took a regular composition book and decorated the front and back with scrapbook paper. The sandal and monkey stickers I found at Walmart. All words are made of alpha stickers.

For my nephew, Zac:

 

I found the bin at Walmart and used white alpha stickers to decorate it. Then I filled it with candy and popcorn packets.

And for all of the adults:

The jars we bought in a pack at Walmart and they came with the labels. All of the ingredients for the hot chocolate, the ribbon and wrapping paper (I used to decorate the top of each jar) I found at Walmart.

To carry the jars, I used an empty cereal box. I taped close the open end and cut X shapes in the top to fit the jars.

We saved a lot of money, but were still able to give our family nice gifts and everyone seemed to really like them, especially the doodle pads and the journal. And I have to admit, I was really proud of how everything turned out.

Vote For Us @ Top Mommy BlogsVote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Show the love. Click on the button above for your vote to count.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

One response »

Leave a Reply

