My Kid Is Smarter Than Your Kid

Standard

A few months ago, I read somewhere that once a child reaches around eighteen months, the developmental changes are more obvious and come every day. Holy moly, they were not kidding. Pretty much since about a couple weeks before Zoey turned eighteen months, she started wowing us almost daily. We’re almost at the point of calling MENSA.

Here’s a list of the things she’s started doing recently:

1. She tries to put her own socks, shoes and pants on. She hasn’t quite gotten it yet, but she’s close.

2. She gives me dirty looks when she doesn’t like what I’m saying. I am assuming I will see a lot of these in the years to come–most likely in the teen years.

3. She has started to give her doll a bath with a wet one, which means she’ll be an awesome mom one day. You know, except for the throwing baby in her toy box and slamming her into the play stroller.

4. She understands that wash cloths are for washing and occasionally tries to wash my leg when she takes a shower with me.

5. She still babbles in her first language, baby, but she’s starting to say much more in English and seems to come out with new words daily. Some words she’s added recently: Ra Ra (shower), Ata (pasta), Li Li (lights), All Da (All Done), Ta Da (Ta Da). And recently one of her toys told her, “Bye Bye,” when it turned off and she responded with her own bye bye. Greg and I just looked at her with our jaws dropped to the floor. She’d never said bye bye before that and she acted like it was no big deal. That’s also how she started saying ‘awww’ (the letter R).

6. She recognizes all sorts of things in our home and one of her favorite games is when I ask her where something is and she points to it. She also likes when I ask her to go find something and she brings it back to me.

7. She kind of rocks using a fork.

Clearly, we have a certified genius on our hands. And that means we’re in BIG trouble when she’s older.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

