Zoey Did It

Standard

Zoey is fascinated with our bathtub. Every time she walks into our bathroom, she says, “Ra Ra?” which is baby speak for “Hey mom, there’s a bathtub/shower. And I’m right here. Maybe I should take a shower right now.” She LOVES taking baths and showers and it seems like every day I have to tell her, “No, not yet, Honey. We’ll take your bath later this afternoon,” or something along those lines.

If only potty training included the bath tub, Zoey would be wearing big girl underwear right now. Here’s the deal: I read in some parenting book (yes, Cindy is reading those obnoxious parenting books again. Take cover) that once your child starts showing signs of getting to the point of being ready to potty train, you should take them into the bathroom with you so they can see how it’s done. I sort of have an issue with anyone being in the bathroom with me because, well, I’m a LADY and as far as Greg is concerned I don’t poop. Ever. So having my kid in there is kind of weird, but if it will get her interested in the next step–buying a little Dora toilet seat for her to use–then so be it. Plus, I’m totally teaching her the age-old totally girly thing–going to the bathroom in groups. “I’m going to the potty. You want to come with me?” Yes, I say this on pretty much a daily basis.

But as soon as we’re in the bathroom, Zoey loses all interest in the potty and what I might be doing there (probably not pooping because I don’t do that. Yep) and heads straight for the bathtub/Ra Ra. She usually points to the faucet because she knows that that is where the water comes out and she looks forlornly at her bath toys gathered in a pile at the far end of the tub. There’s even been a couple of times that she’s tried to take matters into her own hands by throwing one of her legs up over the edge of the tub (she’s not tall enough yet to make it happen, though).

But what she did last night took the cake. At some point last night (most likely when Greg was making spaghetti for supper and I was in my own little world) she snuck into the bathroom off our kitchen and threw her Dora lunch bag and diaper bag into the tub. I would like to think that it was her way of maybe taking care of her belongings. Maybe she’s learning that old adage about everything in its rightful place? But the practical side of me knows that probably she was totally setting up the scene in the bathroom so that when she and I went to the potty later, she could point to it and say, “Ra Ra?” which would mean, “Wow! Who put these here? Probably I should get in the tub and get them for you, Mom. And probably I should just take a shower while I’m in there.” Sneaky. Sneaky.

Her plan backfired, though, because I used the upstairs bathroom and didn’t find her bags in the tub until this morning when I went in the bathroom to take a Ra Ra. Seeing those bags in there made me smile because, c’mon, Zoey is freakin’ awesome.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

