Reason 129,124,233 Why I Love Greg

Standard

On Friday, my cubicle-mate, Abby, and I were working hard to survive another morning at work. In between writing skus about such exciting products as computer speakers and laptops, we decided that we needed chocolate. Stat.

Just jokingly, I told Abby that I should ask Greg to bring us chocolate. I sent him a text that said, “Will you bring Abby and I chocolate? We need chocolate.” Just jokingly, mind you.

This is the text I got back:

“Sure. Just let me take a shower first.”

Wait, what? I stared at the text for a good two minutes because I wasn’t sure if he was joking or not. I tend to be incredibly gullible and I really didn’t want to fall for this one if he was joking. There was no way I expected him to drive forty-five minutes to my work to hand over chocolate for Abby and I–especially when she and I could just take the elevator down to the lobby of our building and buy a seventy-cent pack of M&Ms from the newstand (which we both totally did that afternoon). But if he was joking and I fell for it, he’d laugh at me and shake his head like he was thinking, oh YOU. You’re just so silly.

So I called him. I asked him if he was serious and it turns out, he totally was. He said he could pick up chocolate for us on the way and I should ask Abby what kind she wanted and–it was about this time that I fell in love with this man all over again. THE MAN WAS GOING TO DRIVE FORTY-FIVE MINUTES TO BRING ME CHOCOLATE. Dear Lord, he’s a keeper.

I told him he definitely didn’t have to bring us some and I explained about the newstand in the lobby. I told him the text had been a joke because I had expected him to respond with something snarky like, “Sure. Let me get right on that.” We always joke around like that. But to actually be ready and willing to drive to bring me chocolate?

It reminds me of the time while I was pregnant that I was home alone and I started having a panic attack. Greg was at his cousin’s house and I called him all freaked out and he said he’d be right home. I had pretty much calmed myself down before he got home and was lying in bed when he burst through the back door and ran up the stairs to our room.

And that’s when I noticed what he held in his hand:

An ice cream cone with one scoop of chocolate peanut butter ice cream and one scoop of mint chocolate chip. Without me knowing, he had stopped at the ice cream stand just down the road from our house and gotten my favorite ice cream to make me feel better. There were little rivers of it running down his hand as it melted.

God, he’s wonderful. I hope when Zoey is older, she finds someone just like him.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

