I Hate Valentines Day

Standard

Disclaimer: Here there be mushiness about love and soulmates and other crap. Just so you know.

So, here’s the thing: I have always hated Valentines Day. There’s just something that seems almost fake about buying a stupid card and some candy or whatever for the person you’re supposed to be showing your love to every day. For kids, it’s okay to get all into a holiday like Valentines Day, but I’m just never going to be one of those girls that expects jewelry or other presents of that kind on a stupid day in February every year (although if someone feels the need to give me chocolate, I will totally take it).

I guess I’m just a big proponent of showing my love for Greg every day–as he does for me. The man cooks me dinner and laughs at my stupid jokes. He encourages me when I’m down and actually listens when I start rambling on about the idiot Real Housewives or the book I’m reading. He makes me the BEST white russians and gives me hugs whenever I need one. Can it get any better than that?

Oh yes, it can.

Our Valentines Day was all kinds of screwed up this year. We had planned to just have a nice grown-up dinner at home, but then Zoey woke up with pink eye and I ended up coming home early from work with a stomach bug. Not ideal in any way, but Greg didn’t even bat an eye. He simply jumped into the role of taking care of me while I felt like complete death.

He followed Zoey around the house to make sure she stayed out of trouble while I tried desperately not to um, toss my cookies. He brought me ice water to sip on and gave me only a sympathetic smile when I told him I would kill for a soda.

He even hooked up the baby monitor so that all I had to do was say something out loud in our bedroom and he’d hear me downstairs. Naturally, I didn’t take advantage of this until Zoey fell asleep on our bed next to me and I couldn’t move for fear of getting sick and DEAR GOD IS THAT GLEE COMING ON THE TV?!?! WHERE IS THE STUPID REMOTE?!?! MUST CHANGE CHANNEL!! Greg came and saved the day.

Because he’s wonderful. Because he’s awesome.

I feel really blessed that I’ve found someone so wonderful to spend my life with. And I can’t wait to face every challenge, laugh every laugh and enjoy every adventure with him.

So, screw Valentines Day. That’s only one day a year. I have three hundred sixty-four other ones to appreciate and love my Greg on. And I’ll make sure he knows how much I love him. Because that’s what being with your soulmate is all about.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

