Soul Searching

Standard

This post started out with a totally different name and a totally different topic. It was SUPPOSED to be about how when I was rushing around the other day before work, Greg innocently suggested I find just ten more minutes every morning to get everything done so that I don’t have to be in such a frenzy. His suggestion made me feel surly and if I wasn’t such a lady, I might have just given him the finger. But THAT was what this post was supposed to be about–how our schedule always seems so hectic and an extra ten minutes is a ridiculously far-out concept that just isn’t based in our reality at this time.

But then I visited Oprah’s website this morning and just for kicks started looking around. I found two things of interest: a bunch of stuff on pretty much asking yourself inner questions to engage and grow your soul and a link to a site called, soulpancake.com (GREAT journaling questions can be found here). So, here’s the thing: I really was just playing around online, but I ended up reading some stuff that actually made sense to me and when I was thinking about all of it on the way to work, I realized that I actually felt a bit less burdened with stress at that particular moment.

Dear Lord, I’m drinking the Oprah Kool-Aid.

It’s not really about Oprah (although I totally want to be her); it’s more about me and working on my SELF in order to be a better person. A better mom for Zoey. A better partner for Greg. A better sister. A better daughter. A better friend. I’m not super-religious, but I really like the idea of being spiritual. Being open to ideas and new ways of thinking and just basically living a life that makes me feel whole and happy.

So, Oprah has what she calls ‘Aha Moments’, which are basically when she has some sort of epiphany about something.Here’s the one I had this morning: Hey, this stuff is ringing true with me. Maybe I’m at the point in my life when I can/should work on me to make me happier.

And maybe, like Alanis Morrisette and Taylor Swift, I think I need to share everything I write in my journal with everyone–in this case, on this here dog-and-pony-show blog. So, there you go. I’m a spiritual work-in-progress.

Please do not think I’ve gone off the deep end.

So back to the time post. I was grouchy and that made Greg grouchy and it led to us both having kind of crappy days. Everything was fine by the time I got home from work that night, but really? What a waste. Ten more minutes in the morning MIGHT have helped, but like I said, it’s not really possible with our schedule. But that’s okay. Maybe I do run around all crazy-like every morning to get things done and Zoey and I out the door. That’s just how it is and we need (and have up to this point) to roll with it and get through it. Winston Churchill once said, “If you’re going through hell, keep going.” Maybe our crazy mornings aren’t exactly hell, but you get my point. Just keep going. And at some point, you’ll take a deep breath and realize you’re on the other side.

I think I just had another aha moment.

Leave a Reply

