Things Zoey Told Goodbye To Before Going To Bed Last Night

Standard

Every night before Zoey and I go upstairs to cuddle, she has to ‘say her goodbyes’. This is actually her way of saying good night to her favorite toys and whatnot, but since she can’t say good night yet and bye is just SO much easier to pronounce… She walks around the downstairs and thrusts her hand out to certain things and waves, while waiting for me to say out loud, “Bye Bye ___”. If I guessed correctly at the object she was waving to, we move on to another one. If I’m wrong (like in the case of guessing the bathroom, when she was waving to the shower), she’ll continue waving until I get it right. Anyway, the following is a list of her goodbyes from last night:

The refrigerator

The alphabet magnets on the refrigerator

The handle on the door to the refrigerator (she wanted me to open the refrigerator so she could say goodbye to our groceries, but I wouldn’t do it)

The trash can in the kitchen

Her Dora the Explorer counting book

Greg

The TV

The newly-fixed laptop

Scout

Brutus

The downstairs bathroom

The vacuum cleaner (this one she makes sure to do every night–like she’s afraid that if she forgets to say goodbye to the vacuum, it might sneak into her room and get her while she sleeps)

The pile of DVDs she got into prior to Mommy saying it was time to go to bed

Her big car

Daddy’s shoes (both shoes individually)

A chair

The baby gate

My winter coat that was hanging over the back of a chair in the kitchen

A TV tray

Other things that she has waved to in the past that cracked Greg and I up:

The downstairs shower

The downstairs toilet

Our cereal containers on top of the refrigerator

Her diaper bag

Her toy laptop

The silverware drawer

The stove

The kitchen sink

The wood stove in the living room

Her toy area

I just don’t think she can BE any cuter.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

