Colorful Eggies

Standard

A few days before Easter, I found a picture on Pinterest.com of colored deviled eggs and I fell in love with the idea. I could do that, right? The recipe didn’t look that hard and I figured Easter dinner at my mom and dad’s house would be the perfect occasion to make such cool-looking eggs.

So, I gathered my supplies:


What you’ll need:

Vinegar (I used distilled white vinegar)

Food coloring in different colors (I used neon green, pink, purple and blue)

Mugs (one per color you plan to use)

Water

Eggs

Instructions:

Place eggs in a pot and fill with water. Heat on stove. Let water boil for ten full minutes. Take pot off stove and drain eggs under cold water.

Add one cup of water to each mug. Add 1 tsp. of vinegar and a few drops of food coloring to each mug (because the colors were neon, I added about six drops to each mug).


Remove the shells from the eggs. Cut each egg in half length-wise and remove yolk. Place yolk in a separate bowl. Place each white half in one of the colors you are using and leave there for a few minutes until it reaches the shade you want. When each white half is the color shade you prefer, remove from the mug and place on a plate to dry.

Add mayonaise (and mustard, depending on our taste) to the yolks and mix well using a fork. Add a spoonful of the mixture to each egg.


Add paprika for taste and place on serving dishes.


A couple notes:

I made these the afternoon before Easter and threw them in the refrigerator over night. All of the colors except for the green held up well over night. Also, watch out for the egg whites accidentally touching each other or drops of color on the plate where they’re drying.

And I have to give props to my helper, who stood on a chair next to where I worked at the kitchen counter and resisted the urge to touch every egg white as it came out of the color mug:

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

