Battleship Game and KRE-O Battleship Combat Chopper Review and GIVEAWAY!!!

Standard

Have you seen the commercials for the new Battleship movie? Based on the classic game (with an extraterrestrial twist), the movie is all about how aliens threaten our world (because that seems to be what aliens always do. Why can’t we ever have a movie about hippie-like aliens?) and it’s up to a brave team (ON BATTLESHIPS!) to save the day.

But here’s the best part: there is now a new Battleship game based on the movie that lets you put your friends to the test. Two dueling teams–the Navy and the aliens–allow you and a friend to get your game on by trying to sink your opponent’s ships. Special ops cards give the authority to deliver a complete column of coordinates at once–so you have an advantage on the high seas.

Here’s why I like this game: The game comes in one case that unfolds into two separate playing boards. After the game is done, the boards easily connect again to the case for easy transport to a friend’s house. And underneath each playing board is a drawer with playing cards and pegs–simple, convenient storage.

The playing board, itself, rocks the classic Battleship grid, but I have to say, the graphics and design make this game feel fresh and updated.

Now let’s talk about the KRE-O combat chopper. Based on the new movie, the chopper lets your child step into the action by building their own helicopter vehicle to fight the aliens. The set comes with a KREON fighter pilot and a KREON alien figure (with a twin turbine jetpack) for hours of fun.

I was particularly excited about putting together the KRE-O chopper because growing up, I was super-into all of these kinds of building block toys. I looked at the instructions that said this set had 174 bricks and I scoffed because back in the day, I had built a whole pirate ship, complete with sails that unfurled, and that had THOUSANDS of bricks. So, I pretty much figured I would OWN THIS SET IN NO TIME.

It took me three days to put the chopper together–about an hour each day.

To be fair, I had to keep stopping to do silly things like feed my family and change Zoey’s diapers. But three days? It made me feel kind of like I should be sitting in a rocker on our porch yelling at kids to stay off our lawn. I guess the days of me whipping up one of these sets in no time are kind of over. However, I bet if I had given the bricks and instructions to my nephew, he would have had the finished chopper back to me in no time.

Besides, isn’t putting the whole thing together half of the fun?

After the helicopter was completely put together, I have to admit, I had to stop myself from flying it through the air while making ‘whoopwhoopwhoop’ sounds. It just looked so awesome and I can see how kids would be able to enjoy it for hours on end.

And now, the part you’ve all been waiting for: YOU could win the new Battleship game AND the KRE-O Battleship chopper set. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment below. Make sure to include your e-mail address so that I can get a hold of you if you win.

One requirement: you must live in the U.S.

The winner will be chosen at random (meaning I put all names in a hat and have Miss Zoey pull one out) in two days (May 17th). So, don’t put it off. Enter now!

UPDATE: Congrats to Steve for being the lucky winner! I’ll be e-mailing you shortly about your prize. Thanks to everyone who participated and keep checking back for more reviews and giveaways.

The Preble Road Crew received a free sample of the Battleship game and KRE-O Battleship chopper set in order to write this review. No money exchanged hands. The Preble Road Crew reviews products with integrity and trust me, if we hadn’t liked the products, we would have told you.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

10 responses »

  1. I would have loved to have seen you whoopwhoopwhooping it up around your house with this toy. It really sounds great for a young man. You do such a great job.
    Love, Mom
    ehoose54@aol.com

Leave a Reply

