Twerp

Standard

This past weekend, Miss Zoey was in rare form. She insisted on watching LOTS of Spongebob Squarepants, but after Greg or I would start an episode for her, she would decide she wanted to watch Fresh Beat Band. So, we’d start Fresh Beat Band (thanks to the DVR, we have a bunch of episodes of both) and then she’d decide she wanted Spongebob after all.

Saturday, she realized THIS CRIB CANNOT KEEP ME CONTAINED, PEOPLE, and she actually climbed the side of her crib. She was perched on the side railing when Greg and I, both, flew across the room to keep her from falling. She thought it was hysterically funny. Greg and I tried to make our hearts calm down before we had matching heat attacks.

And then Sunday, she didn’t want a sandwich for lunch–or fish sticks or leftover taco casserole or anything I suggested to her. But when DADDY suggested the MEAL OF ALL MEALS (in Zoey’s opinion), Stouffers mac and cheese, she about lost her mind. Seriously. I tried to suggest lunch ideas to her for at least fifteen minutes and she was not a happy girl. Greg suggests one thing and she turns into a little angel with a bright smile.

We played outside on Saturday, which included washing up and trying out her new plastic slide (thank you, Grandma and Grandpa Hoose) and jumping for leaves on low branches of trees.

Sunday, we went to the park and surprisingly enough, Zoey wasn’t into the playground part. We parked right next to the swing and slide area, but she didn’t want anything to do with all of that. Greg and I let her set out on her own adventure and just followed her as she walked across the large grassy field that led through a slim patch of trees to a stream where lots of kids were playing in the water.

This is what happened next:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If there is any kind of water, my child has to be in it. She gets it from her Daddy–as you can see, he’s right out there too.

After we finally wrestled our child out of the water–she played in the water for a good twenty minutes or so–we headed back home just in time for Zoey to run around the house in only a diaper while giggling and yelling at the top of her lungs.

Ah Toddlerhood: you are chaotic and stressful, but as I sit here in the quiet living room with my baby fast asleep upstairs, I will admit I totally love you.

About cdhoose

I'm a mom to an amazing little girl and have another little one on the way. I live in Upstate New York with my fiance and daughter, 2 big, crazy dogs and a 3-legged cat (who has an attitude). I hate know-it-alls, Lindsay Lohan and socks with holes in them. I always seem to get myself into trouble (which entertains my fiance to no end), but I try hard to be a good parent. Also, I occasionally work on scrapbooking the fifty billion pictures I've taken of my kid. And I like ice cream. The end.

Leave a Reply

